We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Warm, cozy, friendly place for a romantic dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, cozy, friendly place for a romantic dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic place with old world ambience in the middle of Carmel. Food was excellent, we had the seafood pasta and it was perfect. A bit pricey but its in Carmel! Highly recommended for a special occasion for a couple. They also have a fine wine list. Service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    237
    128
    69
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great referral from friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Frankly it was a wonderful experience. After a day in Point Lobos we decided to eat early so that we could drive back home in the Bay Area. Our meal was a perfect end to a wonderful hike around one of California's most beautiful ocean side parks. We sat in the inside patio which has a lovely atmosphere. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. We shared an appetizer Fig and Pig. Artfully presented. Both the scallops and the NY strip (more like a tender juicy filet mignon) and their sauces were terrific. And expensive. As should be expected when you combine fresh healthy ingredients with excellent chefs and servers in a delightful setting. Finally we shared the warm chocolate pudding. Too good. The wines by the glass, Llaird chardonnay and the wine of the week a Spanish Llebre Temranilllo Merlot Cab blend. Should giv it a touch over 4 stars really. We will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Romantic date, Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We like to come here once a year ... it's a few hours away from home but worth it. Great food. The mushroom appetizer is so delicious .. I love the mussels serves with fries. Next time I'm trying the gnocchi. This place has been in Carmel for years and it is truly a classic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and dog lover's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived with our Australian Shepherd and our friend's had their black lab. We sat on the front patio (there is also a larger back patio that is pet friendly).

From our cocktails to the exquisite desserts we enjoyed our evening because we were able to share it with our canine friends. No dog-sitting service necessary. Carmel is without a doubt the dog friendliest American city we have ever visited.

Casanova's food was wonderful and the staff was very solicitous when it came to our pets. This will be a stop next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch & Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stopped here for lunch on their lovely patio while shopping alone in Carmel. I loved it so much I immediately made reservations for dinner that evening with my husband. For lunch I had their heirloom tomato soup (so fresh I wanted to lick the bowl) and spinich gnocchi. It was my first time to eat gnocchi and I'm in love with the dish now. So delicate and flavorful. For dinner I had the salmon and my husband had the lamb. Both dishes were excellent. The wine list was a bit overwhelming (all 114 pages of it!), but they have an excellent sommelier to help you choose a wine perfect for you - we had a 2006 Heitz Cellar that was amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules102467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing