We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The tipping here is out of control.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casanova Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The tipping here is out of control.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends. The halibut was excellent but served too cold for my liking. No potato or pasta with it so not very filling. All the deserts ordered were excellent. The bill arrived with 18% already added. Tipping practices in the US are bad enough but this is out of control.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    251
    132
    77
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing in every aspect”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had seen this restaurant on a travel show so as it was our first trip to Carmel we booked well in advance.

The service was terrible as the table was left with empty plates and glasses for a long time until we asked a passing waiter ( not ours) to remove them. We asked for an ice bucket for our wine from our waiter who did not bring one , so we asked the Sommelier who again had to be reminded after 10 further minutes of waiting.. We ordered the fish of the day and the NY steak but both had no taste at all which was very disappointing indeed. The service was very poor and we were ignored by the sommelier and waiter on numerous occasions !!

Carmel has a plethora of restaurants so I sincerely urge you to give Casanova a wide berth and choose an alternative

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with incredible service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you visit Carmel you must visit Casanova. The food is amazing from their wonderful seafood to my favorite lamb chops. You will love this gourmet experience and their exceptional wine list.

Do yourself a huge favor and visit Casanovas!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verneuil-en-Bourbonnais, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Casanova is Falling on "Hard Times"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

For many years now, I have always rated Casanova as being the best restaurant in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Repeatedly I have referred friends and strangers alike to it for a memorable dining experience. Its cuisine remains excellent as does its charming ambience in which to enjoy your meal. But I am afraid Casanova has gradually fallen on hard times. Were it not for it unique ambience, I could not recommend it has heartily as I once did. And why do I say this? Simply because of its long-standing tendency to overprice it menu selection, especially its varied selections of wines. Slowly but surely, it is "cutting corners" with a little less here and a little less there, especially the hors-d'oeuvres! The proverbial "straw that broke carmel's back" came yesterday, when I asked for some bread and was told that bread is no longer severed, but can be ordered for five dollars. I placed an order for it and I was give four slices of excellent bread, that is, at $1.25 per slice of bread! NEVER in life have I been in a restaurant and charged for bread, not to mention this outrageous price. So, fellow restauranteurs from now on I shall frequent "Le Saint Tropez" in Carmel-by-the-Sea, where excellent bread is served without charge and where the cuisine easily rivals that of Casanova.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Califonia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not To Be MIssed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant looks great as you approach--very inviting. The hostesses were very friendly, very welcoming, and very passionate about the food and the restaurant. The atmosphere is very relaxed, pleasant, and convivial. The server had a large area to cover, but she pulled it off with aplomb. A manager (owner? partner?) was circulating among the diners, conversing, filling water, clearing plates. Even better than all that was the food. It was fresh, delicious, and beautiful. You should not miss out on the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FCT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing