We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not To Be MIssed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casanova Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern Califonia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not To Be MIssed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The restaurant looks great as you approach--very inviting. The hostesses were very friendly, very welcoming, and very passionate about the food and the restaurant. The atmosphere is very relaxed, pleasant, and convivial. The server had a large area to cover, but she pulled it off with aplomb. A manager (owner? partner?) was circulating among the diners, conversing, filling water, clearing plates. Even better than all that was the food. It was fresh, delicious, and beautiful. You should not miss out on the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FCT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    251
    132
    77
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ended up at Casanova for a little late night snack, when we couldn´t find anything else open (other than all the other restaurants, that is - grocery store closes way too early). We only had some appetizers, prices were a bit stiff, but the food was excellent! It is perfect for a romantic evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ina89K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were really looking forward to a fantastic gastronomic experience but were bitterly disappointed. The staff were very offhand and the whole atmosphere was very pretentious - there was a limited menu and a half bottle of wine was 25 dollars. The food was very mediocre And we were so disenchanted with everything especially the exorbitant prices that it is the first time we decided not to tip!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
268 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

While visiting Carmel for the first time and shopping in one of the lovely cottages, the shop owner recommended going to Casanova for lunch or dinner. The next day we visited Carmel again and made sure we had lunch at Casanova. Everything was excellent from the charming cottage decor, the friendly knowledgeable staff and delicious food. Great Italian dishes, great wines and a few wonderful desserts. This must be one of the finest restaurants in Carmel and we will go again on our next visit to this area. We liked it so much that we purchased a gift certificate for the friends we were visiting in Pacific Grove.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Casanova was recommended by the concierge at The Inn at Spanish Bay and my wife and I loved it. It is located in a beautiful old house that is nicely decorated. The food was excellent. Pasta dishes are fabulous, so is the seafood. Great wine list and the service is friendly and professional.
We will definitely go back next time in Carmel which, hopefully, will be soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing