We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming Patio with Average Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Casanova Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming Patio with Average Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The outdoor sitting area is charming. The service is exceptional. The waiter actually noticed I'm left handed and placed my water glass accordingly. Lovely attention to detail. Food was a big disappointment though. My grilled chicken salad was actually a minced chicken mixed with mayo - such a different experience and pretty awful compared to what I was expecting - a grilled piece of fresh chicken. The cannelloni were ok, honestly I would have been better off buying Amy's frozen dinner and reheating it for $5 vs. the $50 I spent on an appetizer, main dish and tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kayamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    251
    132
    77
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“NIce but pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food here is very good, but the average rating comes because the prices were far too high. Before discussing the food, let me say that the staff were excellent and accommodating. We sat outside and had a lovely dinner. My issue, again, is the price. We bought a gnocchi appetizer that was amazingly tasty but cost $12.00. For this, perhaps 6-7 gnocchi were included. We had salmon and my wife had scallops on risotto. The cost of the scallop dinner was $32.00 and came with THREE scallops....3? Are you kidding me? Scallops are expensive in the store, but when you're charging $10.00 per scallop, that's way too much. We also had a bottle of wine chosen from the largest wine list I've ever seen. The less expensive selections are $30 to $35. At the other end of the scale there are wines listed at over $5,000. The total meal, including one dessert and two coffees, was about $150.00.
In summary, we enjoyed the food, but thought the price was too high.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprised by the amount of varying opinions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here. We had the famous gnocchi, and they were great. I had the cannelloni, and again, very delicious. My husband had corn and ricotta ravioli. Sweet back taste. Very nice. We split a Meyer lemon soufflé. Service was flawless. Hostess was a little cool, but not enough to keep me from going here again. I'm surprised by the amount of negativity. We had a positive experience and will return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a special place to have dinner with your sweetie, this is it. There is a very European/old world feel to the restaurant, very quaint and cozy. And the food is excellent. I had the seafood pasta with pesto (pictured), and I enjoyed it all! Do have desert - the lemon sabayon is one of the best deserts I have had anywhere (and this is high praise, I am a chocolate girl).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Old World Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

You think you have arrived at a village house in France both outside and in. Romantic setting and delious gourmet food. Our server had worked here 23 years. He was so attentive to my allergy situation. Presentation and flavor were outstanding.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BGB65Chicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing