We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Casanova Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading many reviews and walking around the town to pick a place for dinner.

They were very nice to us at the front desk, we did not have reservations and although it was a busy night they sat us anyways.

The ambiance is wonderful at this place. We sat outside on a chilly night and we were okay because they have heaters close to every table.

We ordered the gnochi gratin and those were fantastic. We ordered the house wine and it was good as well. We decided to share the Duo Filet and this was very dissapointing. It was good but the flavor was not there.
Overall the food was good but not great. For the price I would have expected a better service and a more memorable steak. Compared to other restaurants in this price range it is over rated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    283
    145
    84
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dinner with Van Gogh!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Considering how busy the restaurant was on a Monday night, we were glad we had a reservation! Our table was on a lovely terrace, where colorful ceramic plates adorned the walls. it was 50 degrees and we quickly realized that the space heaters were not going to keeps us warm, so we asked to be moved inside.

The place was full, but the manager found us the best table...several years ago, they had acquired the dining room table Vincent Van Gogh used when he lived "Chez Rachoux", where he spent the last three months of his life. They recreated an intimate dining space, hanging some of his sketches on the wall and tastefully decorating the room with a South of France flavor. We could not believe our luck, there we were, seated at Van Gogh's table! What followed was a fantastic dinner. The roasted peppers and pesto soup was exquisite, as were the spinach gnocchi in cream sauce. The main course was equally satisfying, linguini with seafood in a tasty tomato sauce, and a wonderful veal chop served with sautéed vegetables. The service was attentive and friendly. Our only regret, we had no room for desserts! Casanova is a must when visiting Carmel. Reserve early!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"A little taste of the Provence"”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When you step into this restaurant, it has the charm of being in the south of France. The cuisine is termed French/Italian. It has a rustic look with elegance. The center of the restaurant opens to a patio setting with a quaint bar. We were visiting with another couple and ate at the restaurant twice during lunch. They offered Moules and Frites which my husband said were very good. Also, there is a fettuccine pasta dish with shrimp that my friend enjoyed. On my second visit, I ordered the special which I loved! It was sautéed shrimp and two large scallops topped with a little sautéed kale served on a bed of polenta with a small portion of roasted potatoes and turnips. I'm not usually a big fan of scallops, however, these were cooked to perfection. It was wonderful!
The ambience of this restaurant would be romantic for couples for dinner and when we are in the area again, we will definitely eat here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,784 reviews
819 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great ambiance”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

By luck we chose Casanova for dinner and a great choice it proved to be. Despite arriving late (8:30pm) we scored a great table in one of the back rooms (the small rooms really add to the comfortable ambiance of the restaurant). Our waiter was excellent - attentive without being overbearing. Oh, and the food. It was excellent from the appetizers (the gnocchi is delightfully light despite being prepared in a cream sauce), to the main courses (the parmesan and herb crusted steak was one of the best I've had in some time and the Linguine alla Scapesce chocked full of fresh fish and seafood) through to the desserts (fabulous ice creams, a devine lemon souffle in a tart and the chocolate nougatine). Casanova is definitely worth a visit. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“purrr-fect”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Romantic, Great Food, Great Wine, Great Desert, in cute little Carmel by the sea. This place is purrrfect for a Romantic Dinner or just great dining experience in general. It ranks in the top tier of what I like. Just enough attention but not to hover. It makes me happy and I will return again & again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgkochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing