We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers!”

Friar Tuck's Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Others will give you the low-down on breakfast here. We had burgers for lunch. The best we've had in Carmel! Good draft beer choices to with them. The fries were crispy and hot! Great place for lunch!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OpaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The BEST Breakfast in Carmel”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I enjoyed the many different choices for breakfast. Many different varieties of Eggs Benedict including meatless with fresh spinach, and another with lean turkey for the health conscious diner. Everything we ordered was delicious !!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK place for burgers or grilled cheese”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The prices are reasonable especially for the grilled cheese. The fries and rings were nice and hot and one could tell that they had just been made. They also serve a nice hot chocolate with whipped topping. It seems like this is the closest you can get to a diner in Carmel. It is worth a stop if that is what you want.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 611rickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“vile owner/cook, bitter waffles made from old batter and no apology”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

went for breakfast with no prior knowledge. waffles came and my wife took a bite first and within seconds spit the food out of her mouth into a napkin. I took a taste and thought vinegar had slipped into the batter. called waiter and told him. he said that's the way it is made all the time. sent back and ordered toast which came out hardly toasted. no explanation until we were leaving and my wife said to cook/owner what's with the waffles tasting bitter and at that point he says, oh yes that was bad batter. she says was it not made fresh today and after an embarrassing moment of silence he says no it was not made today. so why did you not come over to us when we sent it back and tell us that. that crap could have made us sick and you don't admit or not charge us for anything. vile creep. went around the town rest of the day asking shop owners about that restaurant and the comments from people who live there and know him verify that the place is dirty and that he is a vile creep and no end of complaints. SHUT HIM DOWN.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FRIAR TUCK...A COMFORTABLE PLACE FOR BREAKFAST...”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ok, if you want a relaxed place to enjoy a quick, 'no pressure' breakfast - Friar Tuck is the place to go. We didn't know what the hours were - but when we arrived the place was open. It was already filled with locals (or at least people that looked like they were 'local'). We sat down had some great hot coffee ordered eggs (over easy), dry crisp bacon and some rye toast - it came quick and was cooked perfectly. The other tables were talking local and national politics, the weather and the influx of tourists - it was very very comfortable. Obviously the place hasn't changed in a decade or two - but that's okay - it works. On our rating scale of "A" to "F," Friar Tuck's Restaurant gets an certain -- "A".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mightytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar Tuck's Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Friar Tuck's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing