We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great new spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yafa

Yafa
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Monterey County
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great new spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went to Yafa as a reunion dinner for a boss of mine that moved away. We had a party of 9, a little late, and the folks at Yafa were more than accommodating. Everything was great. They ran out of the bottles of wine we liked, but offered up another equally good white wine by the bottle. I had the Shakshuka, which was so tasty and healthy! It was similar to ratatouille... see picture. The service was fabulous, as one would expect from the family of Carmel restaurant service legends from Demetra Cafe.
Thank you! Will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover93923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    75
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Loved the lamb ravioli and watermelon salad. Bread was served with an excellent sun dried tomato and feta dip. Good wine list. The service was extremely attentive and the music and dancing added to a fun evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Women of Wine invade YAFA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

40 fabulous WOW women were hosted at YAFA last night and we had the best time. The warm reception and gracious service helped make this a special evening. This restaurant has only been open for a few weeks but it feels like forever. Ben and his crew are warm and charming and so hospitable. They even brought Richard Oh from Otter cove Wines in, an added treat. Now for the food. It was delicious. I loved the Aleppo platter, classic Moroccan was very good and so was the YAFA chicken. The floating island is not to be missed. Yes we had the music and dancing as well. A wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaNPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
“"A feast of exotic flavors and warm atmosphere"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff at the Inn I stayed at, suggested Yafa. It was a delightful experience from the second I walked in. The owners and staff were so friendly and welcoming. The food was exquisite, good portions, at a fair price. Do not miss their specialty dessert. It is a white cream, the most delicious I've ever had. Makes my mouth water... You might be pleasantly surprised when they are in such a happy mood they start playing music!!! You feel like you are somewhere in the Mediterrranean.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very warm and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly place. Great food. The service was amazing. We got appetizers as we entered, to cater to our hunger even before we ordered something. YAFA pasta and veggie wrap were really good! Later, the owners played a song to which they brought almost everyone to the dance floor. Felt like one of those classic movie moments. In the end, they served us free dessert also which was really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yafa also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Yafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing