We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely and relaxing special weekend place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing special weekend place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pros:

- Absolutely beautiful fit and finish in the room - everything was clean, modern, tasteful, restful, and comfortable - even the beds. Our room had a big bathtub in it and a separate shower, a Keurig coffee machine, full-sized ironing board and iron, refrigerator, and easy power sockets.

- Lovely grounds, including a pool and pretty little pond. The breakfast area is particularly charming and pretty. The Carmel Valley is beautiful just to look at in general, so the scenery outside the resort area is nice, too. You feel much further from civilization than you are.

- Very friendly welcome staff (special thanks to Leone, who was friendly and warm).

- Good continental breakfast, with organic jams, fruit, and fresh juices, and tasty simple breads. The coffee was good. The only things I'd avoid are the hard boiled eggs.

- Close to Carmel, some of the fancy restaurants and wineries nearby, and not far from attractions like Los Lobos (15-minute drive).

- Free parking and wifi (you really can't take these for granted anymore).

Cons:

- Although we were staying in one of the best rooms (cottage room 121), you could definitely hear people as they walked by your room because it's on the ground level and people walk by it. This also makes it feel less secluded and private than other places we have stayed at that price point. This was only during the day, though, so it wasn't a big deal to us.
- It could really use a hot tub.
- In the beautiful weekend-trip areas easily accessible to the Bay Area (within three hours), you should expect to pay between $200-300 a night for a place like this, so I don't think the price was unreasonable, but I do think that's pricey for most people's budgets.
- I really liked that the staff were so unintrusive (we only talked to the staff who checked us in and checked us out), but if you're the kind of person who needs room service and wants every amenity, this might not be the place for you.

In other words, the few "cons" there are were not important to us, and I feel confident we will come again because we had a perfect experience there. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: - Book through Priceline for a more affordable stay (ours cost $225 for a mid-week, mid-summer room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surcingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    97
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
158
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We met friends here who had suggested this hotel which was running a special for the month of June. Wow, it is beautiful in a great valley setting. The rooms were roomy and very comfortable. The amenities are phenomenal. We did not play golf. The continental breakfast was excellent with the presentation of organic fruit which was impressive! Our room was on the second floor of the two story building. We overlooked the putting green. Other rooms faced a pond which some might enjoy and want to request. The short drive to Carmel was easy, and we were out of the hustle and bustle of summertime Carmel! The staff were very friendly and helpful when we had questions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJSANDIEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This lodge is located about 4 miles outside of downtown Carmel. The outside of the buildings are nothing special but don't let that sway your opinion. The rooms are very spacious, newly remodeled, and wonderful. Beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The property has a golf course which I did not play. They have a 9 hole putting course, bocce ball court, and a nice pool. (all included) It's very peaceful and the surroundings are beautiful. They serve a continental breakfast which is also included. I'm usually not too impressed with these types of breakfasts but this one was one of the best I've seen. They have different cereals, fresh baked goods from a local bakery, yogurt, breads, and fruits. Best of all it is all fresh and all organic.

The staff was phenomenal. I would recommend this place without hesitation. It's minutes from downtown Carmel, 17 mile drive, and the north end of Big Sur.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMTAmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My family of four stayed here for a couple of nights. We have stayed here many years ago and before the recent renovations. This place has the amazing ability to accommodate all ages: older love the grounds ( golf course), wine, tranquility
Younger: golf - they even have a putting course running throughout, pool area is fantastic

Pros: the rooms are huge, clean, service impeccable, being 5 mins drive from Carmel so away from the hustle but close, continental breakfast is in the lobby and is free, the golfing at pebble beach , spyglass and Spanish banks amazing location!!

Cons: the price is not a bargain$250 a night but acceptable for the area, there is a lot of people BUT since the hotel has a huge area you don't feel it until you go to the free continental breakfast then you have a but of mayhem over people reaching for toast

Overall: I would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel was the highlight of our trip. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The service was excellent and the grounds were beautiful. Our room was on the bottom floor of one of the two story buildings with a private sitting area outside looking out at the practice putting green. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was large with both a large shower and tub. The shower had both a regular shower head and a hand held shower. Even though the hotel is fairly large, we felt like we were in an inmate boutique hotel. All of the staff, including the cleaning ladies and the receptionists, were exceeding friendly and helpful. The only thing the hotel lacked was spa services which were available at the Retreat a short distance away.

The location was great as well, we were just minutes from Carmel and Monterey. Parking was available right outside our room and we were walking distance from a good restaurant and farmers market. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The grounds are spectacular as you are on the edge of the golf course. It is a large complex, with all the amenities. Our room was very spacious, with electric blinds to cover the sky lights at night. The en-suite had both shower and large tub. The bed was very comfy and all linens high quality.
It would be easy to stay a week and enjoy the golfing. An outside private patio opened on to the putting course, available to guests. Breakfast was in the main building, and served a wide array of morning treats.

Room Tip: I would think any room on the grounds would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gggray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Quail Lodge is a great find in Carmel!! Every person we met working there went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous view over the golf course (and the bathroom was huge!). The remodel really upgraded every square inch of the property from the bathrooms to the landscaping. Eating breakfast on the deck overlooking the water was perfect. I would love to get back to the Quail Lodge as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course - we loved it and it gives you even more privacy (althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
4.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
6.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Property: Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing