We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I think the Quail Lodge was recently renovated. We were in one of the basic, dog friendly rooms. Calling it basic doesn't really fit. It was very large with comfy beds and a well appointed bathroom. There was a nice patio with table and chairs. It also had a mini fridge and a Keurig coffee maker.

There is a basic but adequate fitness facility, Bocci Ball court and a nice pool. A continental breakfast is also included.

We were here for a conference that my wife attended. "She Who Must Be Obeyed" said the food served at the conference was the best she's had. Although we didn't eat at the on site restaurant (Edgar's) it's probably safe to say that if they can do an outstanding job for a large group, their regular dinner service must be good.

It's a very dog-friendly property. There is a one time fee per dog regardless of the length of stay. They provide a "doggie bag" with a blanket, stuffed toy and collapsible water dish. CharlyDog (A.K.A Dogzilla) really enjoyed his stay.

Room Tip: Even though our room was closest to Carmel Valley Road, it was still very quiet. I doubt that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PelicanDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    104
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
101
173
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were very impressed with this property. The room was exceptionally large and well appointed. We had both a large bedroom with a gas fireplace and a large living room. Both rooms had enormous TVs (though we didn't use them). The bathroom was also very large.

The living room had a lovely window seat with lots of pillows. We also had a very nice patio.

The property does not purport to be full service. We were fine with that. The breakfast was simple but it had what we needed and there was no waiting. And when we got back from breakfast, the room had already been cleaned (at around 9 am!).

We would definitely stay here again assuming the rates stay within the same range.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Going from a small cabin stay in Big Sur to a giant garden view suite at the Quail Lodge was great! We stayed for 2 nights January 17th-19th both were perfect! I was a little skeptical booking such a nice looking suite for a mere $210 per night, but I am extremely happy I did!

Room Tip: Garden View Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went in early November 2013. We chose this hotel because we signed up for the Land Rover experience. They have self parking outside and you walk to your room from the outside. It felt more like a private retreat. We hardly saw anybody else. I think our King room was attached to only one other room. We had a private patio in front. The room was clean, spacious and didn't have a musty smell. The bed was very comfortable. There's even a dining area, like a breakfast nook/reading area. We used that to eat dinner one night and it was perfect for a toddler. Bathroom is very spacious!! They have shampoo, conditioner and body wash in dispensers. That's the first time I've seen that! The hotel is a few minutes from downtown Carmel. There's nothing around for you to walk to. However, this didn't bother us. We will definitely come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank superham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just one night driving from northern cal to LA. It's a beautiful property and owned by the Peninsula Group in Hongkong so we had high expectations. The room was beautiful and large, the bedding wonderful and the bathroom excellent. There were numerous places to plug in my many devices. The only issues were there was a great gas fire place in the room and the pilot light made a crackling sound all night (we got used to that) but the serious issue is there is a frosted glass window next to the entry door and the outside walkway is lit up all night, so the light actually shined into the room all night and the room never became dark! A darker frosted glass would solve that problem. A minor issue was in our room 143 we had a great balcony overlooking the pool but a pepper tree completely blocked the view; it really should be trimmed. Overall a great hotel and the staff was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california, US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is ~5miles inland from Carmel. Grounds are very beautiful; rooms & bathrooms are spacious with no nonsense comfortable interior. I felt very lucky we didn't stay in Monterey or Carmel: we paid short visits to both towns for lunch and brief shopping. It was cold and foggy, while we enjoyed beatiful sun and seventy+ weather. We don't play golf, but the property is great for walks.
The hotel and a shopping mall across the street offer very limited options for meals & snacks. Plenty of shops/ restaraunts/ grocery stores within 3-5 miles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank trip_rep_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Recently stayed here for a weekend and has such a pleasant time. It's a very nice and well-maintained resort. I loved the grounds - it felt secluded, quiet and very peaceful. I liked that it's not as big of a resort as say Carmel Valley Ranch (although I still love CVR). It felt more intimate and felt like we had the place to ourselves. Enjoyed the amenities - fitness center, heated pool and complimentary continental breakfast. The room we stayed was in great condition and very spacious. Staff were attentive and nice but stayed out of your way which I liked. Also liked the location - you can easily access Carmel Valley Road and Cabrillo Highway if you want go by the sea. There are also some wineries/tasting rooms nearby - one of them, Boete Tasting Room is only steps away from the lodge. Overall, a very nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILMF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
4.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.4 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
5.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Property: Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing