We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful surprise!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico

Nico
Ranked #89 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We happened to walk by this restaurant when we were in Carmel last year for "car week" and liked the lunch menu so went in and were seated immediately. Food was good and the service was excellent. We went again this August for lunch and again for dinner and it was still outstanding. We were not disappointed! The food was fresh and delicious and it was great to have some Mediterranean dishes on the menu to choose from. Owner is very friendly. Will go back. It's small so be sure to make reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

$65 paid for two pasta plates that I would have been able to cook myself....20% tips already included in the bill...a shame honestly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gribouill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“ridiculously expensive, not worth your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have to admit that the restaurant itself has a romantic atmosphere. but the food is not worth your money. we had one seafood pizza, salad with goatcheese and a bottle of the cheapest red wine (pinot noir for > 40 dollars!!!) and paid 108 dollars!!!!
i am willing to pay high prices for high quality but this was just ridiculous. no spices on the pizza, the dough itself reminded me of deep-frozen pizzas i ate thousands of them when i was on college.
also the wine list is far too expensive!
and: a tip of more than 20 percent was added to the bill automatically. for whatever reason.
just avoid this place!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Foreigners beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The service was terrible from the beginning, the waiter was called Yves he had a really bad attitude, when the bill came we had 20% gratuity included and we were a party of for, so I went to the manager/owner and he immediately took it off but Yves said that because FOREIGNERS usually don't tip, that's why he added the gratuity.
Take notice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hirsch97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Def worth a visit but make sure you book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

2 week holiday in California and this was by far the best meal. One of the few restaurants, if not the only one I would have to return to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsRwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing