We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy cow (cheese) - I love this place”
Review of The Cheese Shop

The Cheese Shop
Ranked #1 of 79 Shopping in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holy cow (cheese) - I love this place”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Some go to the Carmel mission for a religious experience, I prefer The Cheese Shop. Once you taste their aged gouda, you will understand.

Knowledgable, helpful staff and passionate owner make this little shop a joy to visit. Go, sample, and get some cheese (and wine and accoutrements) and have a picnic at one of the local beaches.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shamiracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW, wish this shop was in Houston”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We have NOTHING like this. Incredible selection, knowledgeable and patient personnel, and so much fun. Mouthwatering cheeses - we had two partial bottles of very good Santa Lucia Highlands wines from previous dinners that we needed to finish before we left Carmel - we did and flew back to Houston with the leftover cheeses, salamis and crackers and wish we had bought more. Such a place!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJLFROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must do if you love Cheese!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I didn't become a cheese "snob" till I was introduced to the best. The owner here is fabulous and he has trained his staff well. You can sample cheeses from all over the world here before you buy. There is always something new to try. You can try different animal's milk cheese, such as cow, goat, sheep & buffalo.
After 17 mile drive stop here. You will be happy you did.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slovebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO SHOP HERE!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved the knowledgeable staff and the many choices of cheese, wine and and and!
Samples galore!
Make up a picnic lunch or dinner here and return and again and again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank K57K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“for the love of cheese”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

if you love cheese you need to stop here. the shop has an amazing, HUGE selection with very knowledgeable staff. the staff starts offering you samples right when you walk in and then hone in on your preferences to introduce you to new cheeses. I delightful experience. they also sell beer/wine/champagne. we purchased several cheeses, crackers, and champagne and then walked down to the beach to enjoy both (glass is allowed on the beach).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1441ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cheese Shop also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to The Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing