We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused Management”
Review of La Balena

La Balena
Ranked #39 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Seaside, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Confused Management”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Second experience at La Balena. I am a foodie who brings his own wine. Their food is very good, Oso Buco, $35 excellent.

Accepted invitation for 5:50, but informed I had to leave by 7:00. I said that was unacceptable, either accept my reservation or say they can't seat me. They eventually accepted my reservation. Their most expensive octopus appetizer's portion was noticeably reduced from previous meal two months prior; potion reduced, price the same ($21)Pass. Family with children came into restaurant and turned inside table area into McDonalds with the noise of one extra animated child. Management did change our seats, but could care less that this high end Carmel restaurant was turned into Chuck-E-Cheese. and a sound nightmare. Owner dressed as if he had been moving furniture all day I guess the world has gone to heck for those who still enjoy fine dinning and are willing to pay. $200 bill for two and we brought the wine. I believe you could come here in a tank top, directly from the beach with screaming children and you would be fine. They allow dogs in the outside area. Waiter and serving staff very attentive and responsive. Management: Out to lunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    58
    17
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Dined here for the second time. Wow gotta try the Chicken on Sunday & Tuesday night. The restaurant is tucked in Carmel across from Bruno's

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccsarbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced but good food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the outdoor courtyard seating and the service was good until Robert Redford walked in with his daughter and friend. Then the waiters stopped paying attention to us as they stumbled over one and other to serve his table. It was as if we disappeared.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Knight130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sophisticated Northern Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you want to taste Norther Italian Cuisine, as you would in a top restaurant in Florence , this is the place for you.Choice of indoor or outdoor seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 784michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing find in Carmel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend took us to La Balena during a recent trip to Carmel and it was amazing! Food is organic and much of it is from local farmers so there was a real farm to table feel. We tried a variety of dishes and each was fantastic. Staff was beyond friendly. Great wine selection and atmosphere as well. Will definitely make a return visit next time I am in Carmel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balena also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to La Balena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing