We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Octopus Appetizer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Balena

La Balena
Ranked #34 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Octopus Appetizer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food was delicious, especially the octopus appetizer which had a rich, smokey taste.Service was good, but not outstanding. Try not to be seated in the dining area next to the kitchen as it gets smoky from the grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    53
    17
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming little restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited La Balena recently because of the good reviews. Though we enjoyed setting, the meal was sort of average. I tried the Tagliatelle Nere. The pasta was unusual to say the least and I thought it was an odd pairing with fairly delicate seafood. Maybe I'm just not into `California Italian'.
We sat in the rear patio which is fairly cramped quarters to begin with, but a party of 6 or 7 had to squeeze in through a backdoor opening and with dogs in tow. I think I'll skip this one next time I'm in Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SavannahDan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wrong entre was delivered. Waiter then asked if I wanted another entree, which also was not what I ordered,
By time my food arrived(just pasta) my date was partially done and remainder cold as a glacier.

Waiter not helpful when I pointed this out,

For$160 you expect what you order and for both orders to arrive at the same time, it was Judy pasta in cream sauce

Stay away

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Atmeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never got served - totally ignored”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to La Balena because of the good reviews. After sitting down, we waited for at least 10 minutes and the waiter could not be bothered to even approach our table. He was too enamored of another table where we could hear him explaining the menu items, the wine list, and all of the other details. The food might be good (we never found out) but there are so many restaurants in Carmel which provide excellent service why bother with one that does not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 611rickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hottest new restaurant in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Small and charming restaurant. The best gnocchi I have ever tasted. Excellent fried chicken but only available 2 nights a week. Request outside seating because on a crowded night the inside is very noisy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balena also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to La Balena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing