We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Balena

La Balena
Ranked #32 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a small very busy restaurant in Carmel. The food was excellent. There were 5 of us and we all ordered an entree and split 5 apps. The octopus is a must order. The Osso Buco entree was amazing! Best lamb I've ever had. The desserts were ok. Wine list was great. Our waiter even let us try a bottle only wine when we were trying to decide if we wanted it or another bottle and he was completely ok when we chose the other bottle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLP1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    52
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was very busy but my server was here and there. The octopus was good, but my main was undercooked. Would not come back for the price of the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
242 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Charming Gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved that the locals eat here and cherish it. The pasta is home made. The Osso Buca was great as was the the pork loin. The waiter was attentive and the ambiance of this small place was just charming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'm sad I don't live closer! Simply wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fresh and tasty food, helpful and friendly staff, comfortable and warm setting! Please stop by and tell the owner the couple from New Jersey/Manhattan Beach sent you! (I promised I would spread the word!)
The fried green tomatoes are deliciously coated in corn crumbs, the broccolini and potatoes are crispy and flavorful. The pasta is fresh, the soup is hearty...I could go on and on. And we brought Murphy, our dog, who was warmly welcomed by everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lvgMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This restaurant is awesome for any person that knows real italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

try the Octopus app and the Osso Buco, they are simply amazing. the personnel is fun and dilligent.

It id not appear on the GPS, but is easy to find. Junipero St between 5th and 6th.

best in the Monterey area by far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cgsolomong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balena also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to La Balena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing