We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog's Breath Inn

Hog's Breath Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog's Breath Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The legend of Carmel. Formerly owned by Clint Eastwood, he still owns the building-who knows when he will stop by? Kept intact to keep the charm that is the cozy Carmel of yesteryear.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours with perfect Californian wine and a couple of starters from the happy hour menu. Great way to pass the hours

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smallluxuryitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    263
    134
    55
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived late afternoon in Carmel, and after having a free wine tasting session in our hotel, (Wayfarer Inn), we decided to go into Carmel for a bite to eat. Had heard of this place, so we decided to find it and try it out.
Looking at the menu we decided to have the traditional burgers.
When shown to our table, we realised we has been looking atthe lunch menu, as the supper menu was quite a lot more expensive and didnt have the burger. We explained our oversight to our waiter, who was more than happy to let us have the lunch time menu. (dont know of many other places, that would do that).
Meal was great, large portions as you expect in USA, very tasty loads of it.
Washed down with a few beers, and lovely meal was had by all.
Good value for money, clean and pleasant surrounding.
Friendly and very efficient servive.
A good place to eat..you wont be diss-appointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taff1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love Clint, atmostphere was great, food was average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband had only one request when we vacationed in Monterey, and that was to eat that the Hog's Breath Inn, just because it is Clint Eastwood's restaurant. I was game. We loved the rustic feeling and decor, and it was chilly enough the day we went that they had the fireplaces going. So that added a nice touch. However, the food and service were just okay, really nothing to rave about. I had the Monterey Chicken Club - chicken was dry and really detracted from the rest of my sandwich. And just because of the name, my husband had the Dirty Harry burger - but all the flavor was cooked out of the burger. How does that happen??

Anyways, if you're a big Clint Eastwood fan, it doesn't hurt to try the place - maybe you'll have better luck with the food as it seems other people have. Location in itself was great - and a little of the main road. Be sure to look for the sign, and the actual restaurant is towards the back in like this little alleyway. The price also seemed pretty reasonable for the area. Oh, and on nice days, they have outdoor seating available too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NVTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot in Carmel, Ca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

They say this is Clint Eastwood's Restaurant in California. Very nice outdoor seating and a great prime beef sandwich and salad. Check it out and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Boy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Happy Hour"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very good food ! Great Service ! Happy Hour Menu is very affordable & generous. Indoor or patio dining, fireplaces & rustic comfortable setting. Highly recommend this dining experience ! Hope to return & try more of the excellent cuisine !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Inn also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Hog's Breath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing