We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Bar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog's Breath Inn

Hog's Breath Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog's Breath Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The legend of Carmel. Formerly owned by Clint Eastwood, he still owns the building-who knows when he will stop by? Kept intact to keep the charm that is the cozy Carmel of yesteryear.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place to meet friends for food and drinks. The food is excellent as is the atmosphere. Plus every so often you run into the owner, Clint Eastwood.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RTDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    257
    133
    52
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but that's it! Bad food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great patio with fireplaces and a Pirates of the Carribean type charm. Great for pets.
The food was mediocre and very overpriced. The desserts were awful. We had cheesecake and an apple tarte and it felt like the chef was trying to reinvent the wheel. Unfortunately the cocktails were also bad. Overall the food was just bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottandJonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was unimpressed...dirty bad service. We went into bar because we didn't get waited on at table. Ordered a beer and left.
I don't care who owns this- need to clean up and retrain your staff!
Avoid the bathroom at all cost...by alleyway with a homeless guy. Bathroom was dirty too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Average service, average food, average atmosphere.

My partner's pork belly sliders were so fatty that they were hardly edible. I asked for the sweet potato fries, which are listed as a starter, to be brought out with my main as a side. Instead they were brought out with the starter and were cold by the time my main arrived. The portions were huge so we wasted a lot of food. When our bill arrived it included our food plus the food ordered by the party next to us, apparently the server didn't even look at it before handing it over to us.

The staff didn't seem particularly happy to be working there. They were by no means rude but you got the impression that they didn't particularly like their job. There was a general lack of attention to detail.

Go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a fun place to have lunch. We had the waiter that we had the night before at the Merlot Bistro and he recognized us and so that was fun. We met another couple from Florida there so that was also fun. Food and service was super.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2grandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Inn also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Hog's Breath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing