We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could resist”
Review of Hog's Breath Inn

Hog's Breath Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Hog's Breath Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The legend of Carmel. Formerly owned by Clint Eastwood, he still owns the building-who knows when he will stop by? Kept intact to keep the charm that is the cozy Carmel of yesteryear.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Who could resist”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Who could resist a "Dirty Harry Burger' at the Hog's Breath Inn. Generally a very nice spot with good food and good service. We enjoyed being able to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere of the place. A great spot for a fast lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    274
    143
    58
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a quaint little restaurant and we had lunch on the patio by the fireplace. The food was great, the atmosphere was like a pub and very relaxed. The waiter was attentive and polite. Would definately go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was there for early bird dinner (same as regular dinner but a salad or bowl of soup is included). Ordered the pomodoro pasta with Caesar salad. Hubby had the "Dirty Harry" meal. Both were excellent. Also tried their artichoke dip with pitas - very tasty as well. Although the restaurant is no longer operated by Clint Eastwood's group, the building is still owned by him and the décor reflects that. We would definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidid377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Average food but you've gotta go”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We'd heard about the Hog's Breath Inn being owned by Clint Eastwood...turns out he's sold it but still worth a visit. Lively atmosphere, attentive & fun waitstaff, food was good, overall good experience. And who doesn't need another t-shirt?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GypsyAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited The Hogs Breath a number of years ago and enjoyed it, so decided to visit again while in Carmel. Very disappointed! Service was slow, choices were so slim we decided to have dinner somewhere else. Our server was not friendly at all and I believe the only smile we received was when she gave us the check. In her defense, she appeared to be the only server working the patio area. Too bad this place could be a nice, relaxing place to enjoy with friends and family, if they just tried a little customer service and improved their menu. Garlic fries were horrible. Later we had great garlic fries at Alice's Restaurant, which was a fun place with great food! (Woodside, CA)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Inn also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Hog's Breath Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing