We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous atmosphere, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Pacific Rim, Japanese, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Recommended by our B&B owner. Was within walking distance and took reservations. I had sashimi which was heavenly. We had fabulous service and great local beer. I think my husband had salmon was wonderful. The desserts are all worth trying. Loved that the owner stopped by our table.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryFLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    118
    45
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enjoy chips and salsa and sea bass!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

SERVICE
- A mere 5 minutes after arrival with a reservation
- Quick to refill our waters.
- Nice that the owner came by to chat

AMBIENCE
- A little difficult to find (Hint: the entrance is down the stairs)
- Small and cozy
- Unique decor of flying fish upon entry
- Small but clean bathroom

FOOD
- Addicting won ton chips and ginger salsa
- Almond-crusted sea bass was my favorite! Perfectly cooked fresh fish!
- Rare Peppered ahi was good, but just not as tasty as the sea bass

PRICE
- A little on the pricier side, but worth it for fresh seafood.

Nice date spot. Would definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fun unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is our second visit and while the first was outstanding, this time was magic. We can strongly recommend the unique Clay Pot Dinner that was cooked at our table for 2 or more persons. We were a party of six which made the experience even more enjoyable.You can have seafood or beef, fresh vegetables, tofu, mushrooms, rice noodles, cooked in broth, all served with various dipping sauces and steamed rice. Not only is it a taste experience but healthy too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Don't let the stairs down to the lower level deter you. One of the best tuna dishes I have ever had. Friendly efficient service!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FredLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cozy place & delicious/creative food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Based on reviews by other TripAdvisor reviewers, my husband and I went to dinner at Flying Fish Grill. We made reservations and were very glad we had, because they were very busy on a weekend night (this was right after Christmas when Carmel is packed with tourists). The food was delicious. The won tons and "salsa" are so good. I seriously need the recipe. For our entree, my husband ordered the tuna and I got the almond crusted sea bass. Although both dishes were excellent, I have to say I wouldn't reorder the sea bass (I kinda hoped for a little more seasoning) because it was so overshadowed by the sauce and serving of the tuna. It was tempting to overlook manners and lick my husband's plate.

Overall layout of the restaurant...kinda an old-school Japanese steakhouse flare with wood slat walls and private little "nooks" for the tables. Lighting lowered, but maybe because it was Christmastime and they had hung little white lights everywhere. Charming. Not a big place, but it feels somewhat private. I thought the prices were fair for the amount of food served.

We did not order dessert, but rather strolled the Carmel town streets since the weather was decidedly beautiful (just needed a light jacket).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleAppleRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing