We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fusion japanese cuisine”
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fusion japanese cuisine”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

honestly one of the best meal I've ever had in a japanese restaurant. I've started with a spicy tuna tartare and my main was a Siberian Black Cod in sesame oil and lentils. Stunning.
Good selection of champagnes. Service is very good. The location is great as well, a fake wooden boat (it is not as cheesy as it seems, trust me).
Plus, Carmel is beautiful, after the meal we walked in the dark (in Carmel there are no city lights) with flashlights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    142
    51
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for walk ins”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great food, reasonably priced with a comfortable atmosphere! The waitress was very knowledgeable on the seafood available and helped us to choose exactly what we wanted

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 190Chez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“yes all the reviews are correct, a top notch restaurant!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Along with my teenage kids, we had dinner at the Flying Fish based on the Trip advisor recommendations. It was simply awesome. Tempura, dungeness crab, salmon combined with well priced wines made for an excellent evening and I would certainly visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_E68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited Carmel with friends last weekend and this was our favorite meal of the trip! Loved the wooden interior... food and service... top notch! Would visit again, even with many other options for dining in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is tiny. Its food is wonderful. I tried the black cod, something you usually can't find on the East Coast. I explained my dietary restrictions to the owner who was more than forthcoming. The service was both excellent and informal.
This was a really fine California seafood restaurant, with Asian overtones. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing