We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best seafood restaurant on the peninsula” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant on the peninsula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Asian fusion seafood. A beautiful wooden interior lovingly designed and built by the chef/owner. Excellent food and atmosphere. What more do you need?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    125
    48
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well, thanks all the other recommendations from the other travelers who recommended going here otherwise I wouldn't have. Rich the owner of the place was nothing but helpful when I arrived earlier than my reservation. I felt like I just wanted to see if I could get an earlier, however since the food was outstanding now I know why. They have about 15 tables and let me tell you, if your going to Carmel I wouldn't think twice about going anywhere else but here. I had the almond bass words can't explain how delicious it was and I ended it with a banana sundae. I changed my up a little but you couldn't beat the ice cream or the home-made hot fudge, OUT OF THIS WORLD. I HIGHLY recommend calling for a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Eating here was a beautifull experience. Everything was perfect, kind service, supergood food. Very good wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Timeless Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been coming to is restaurant for 15 years and it always is one of our favorite meals in Carmel.

The menu never changes and why change it when everything on the menus is wonderful? Everything is fresh and cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Parbuster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romantic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved loved loved this place. ESP when they cook food right in front of you. Small so make reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saramhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing