We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic valentine's day dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Pacific Rim, Japanese, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Monterey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Romantic valentine's day dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were late so they have up our table but were still able to get us in. The atmosphere is really neat. Food excellent and service was the best I've witnessed in a long time.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saramhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    120
    45
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Flying Fish Grill - A lovely dinner - March 1, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sea bass was brilliant, service was also excellent, a little nosey but overall very good value, and very enjoyable evening

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Flying Fish Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had dinner here and it was wonderful. The restaurant itself is divided up into booth-like areas, so it is very private and inviting. Food was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Sea Bass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really liked this restaurant. Nice ambience...very personable service and great food (at least the Sea Bass). We will return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FABOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, service & evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We saw this on Trip Advisor and after another local mentioned it we knew it was a place to go. What a gem! We were luckily there after a busy holiday weekend and were able to get a reservation an hour in advance. Couldn't find it at first and called and Rich was so kind to step outside the door while on the phone and point where to go (just left & under the bakery that faces the street). The seating is intimate and we eventually were moved to the most quiet part of the restaurant after asking about it. There was a customer that was having a good time chatting across to another customer and that was creating a little more noise than we hoped for. Our server (I think Christina) was gracious about it and talked to Rich who in turn gave us a great option of this almost private booth. Both of them have been a part of this restaurant for years and years and they made us feel so at home. How lovely it was!

I could write and write about this experience but I will get to the point! The wonton chips and salsa that are served are so delicious and addicting. We had the Flying Fish red wine, California Tower (crab was so yummy!!), the Abalone and finished with a chocolate dessert. All were so tasty, beautifully presented and great! I'll add a photo of each.

What a memorable last evening in Carmel. Thank you to the staff and chefs for this!

Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing