We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals and savvy travellers go for great food”
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pebble Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Where the locals and savvy travellers go for great food”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

host /owners kenny and tina have been cooking on the Monterey Peninsula for over thirty years --- kenny is the chef behind this wildly successful restaurant.

you start out with a homemade salsa and hand made chips; then an appetizer of ahi tuna or sushi --then an entree like escalar or other lcally caught fish... pair it with a wonderful california wine from Rich's wide experience... top it off with homemade caramle sauce on vanilla icecream or green tea icecream...

you'll be back

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laoban173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    143
    51
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Flying Fish is a Flying Flop!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

It was suppose to be a romantic 15 year anniversary dinner, but turned out to be a flop. There was dried crusty food on the tables. It was dark and dingy. You felt like you were sharing a meal with a stranger because the tables were so close to each other. You could hear everybody's conversations around you. I ordered lobster and my wife had a chicken dish. The chicken was dry and the lobster was just ok and the sides were terrible and tasteless. We ate here because of the reviews on Yelp. 4.5 out of 5. It was $71 for both of us with no drinks. We both had water. So we have to say its not just a flop, but a double flop. Overpriced and terrible food. And the service was not good either. We ended up rescheduling our anniversary dinner for the next night. We went to the Chart House in Monterey and had a wonderful experience in every way. So don't eat here and don't recommend this place to anybody. It's terrible. I don't know how anybody in their right mind could rate this place higher than a 1. And that is being nice

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Food.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Flying Fish grill has mastered the art of coooking fish. The tempura, almond crusted seabass and shabu shabu are my favorites.

Helpful?
1 Thank meals4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Must!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Growing up in San Francisco, I am a restaurant snob. I love great food, wonderful atmosphere and amazing service. Recently my family took a week to drive down Hwy 1 to Big Sur. We stopped in Santa Cruz, Pacific Grove, Carmel, Big Sur and further on to Cambria. I researched hotels and restaurants at each stop, and we ate at some wonderful places...but the best was definitely Flying Fish Grill in Carmel. Intimate atmosphere, impeccable service and absolutely delicious food. We highly recommend the rare peppered ahi, the grilled halibut, the tempura chicken - and, of course, the banana sundae...If you find yourself in Carmel, definitely stop in for dinner. Ask for Rich - he made sure we were well taken care of...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KMoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We could have used a bit more guidance of our selections, more interest from the waiter.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing