We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$829
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$569
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$311
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$900
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
198
133
40
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
133
40
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationsan carloswine and appetizersthird floorafternoon winecarmel by the seaocean avenuewithin walking distancehot tublight breakfastparking is tightthe main streetno elevatoryogurtno air conditioningshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 387 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Almost everything was great, except the one thing the hotel couldn’t control…the noise. Since this Inn was built long ago in motel style, noise reverberates from people walking in the outdoor hallway or simply talking in normal voices inside or outside of their rooms. So we won’t be staying here again simply because of the noise. You can really tell they tried hard and mostly succeeded in remodeling this property. The sheets are wonderfully soft. There are charming places to sit outside. But the problem is people tend to congregate in these charming areas, talking and laughing until 11 – 11:30. I can’t blame them, it’s really nice, but their voices reverberate and you can actually hear their conversations and it makes sleeping impossible. It truly is a perfect location, very charming exterior. Rooms are very nice and clean (except the carpets are quite dirty but everything else was clean). There are no safes, which I found unusual, but neither my jewelry nor our computers were stolen, so I guess it’s OK not having a safe. There is not enough parking so we were constantly having to pay attention to moving the car. We kept a note on the floor by the door. There are only 6 hangers in the room (2 of which are occupied by robes) so we just moved the robes and tripled up on hanging our clothes but you should probably bring extra hangers. The breakfast was terrific. Cookies are terrific but you need to be aware the cookies seem to only exist between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. so you will need to hoard and save if you want a cookie for dessert. My suggestion would be to get an upper floor room and wear noise cancelling headphones to sleep.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSInns, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and for your very kind comments regarding our "perfect location", snuggly sheets, complimentary breakfast and of course, our signature freshly-baked cookies! I was so sorry to read that your stay was disturbed by noise from your fellow guests. Please know that the hotel has quiet hours from 9pm to 9am to ensure the comfort of all guests. Our after hours service is available and we always encourage guests to report any incident so we can kindly remind our visitors of our quiet hours policy. We very much hope that we have the opportunity to earn back your trust and have you visit with us again....I will personally ensure we have a plentiful supply of cookies waiting for you!
Warmly,
Karen Redmon, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

With my wife for a get away. Perfect place on 8th in Carmel. A larger B n B, but felt personal and friendly. Great room. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, and a fireplace. No air conditioning- not needed. A fan available- fantastic happy hour and morning breakfast. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This is a nice little place but it has some shortcomings.
For the price paid I did expect just a little more. The rooms are nice, with a fireplace, small refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker. Plastic glasses only, you would expect real glass.
As far as cleanliness goes it is only ok. The room smelled bad, probably because of a dirty carpet. The bathroom window was broken (room 306) and could not be closed.
Breakfast was available between 8-10am. Early risers be aware.
Happy hour 4-6pm, pretty nice!
Great location so just park your car and walk anywhere.
Don't park under the office. Their laundry facility dryer vent is there, and in the morning my black Mercedes was totally white with lint.
Overall it felt like a motel with some upgrades.
Looks like they have a hot tub, well we didn't know that.
Trying something else next time.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during our brief visit to Carmel-by-the-Sea. At first we were a little bit skeptical about staying there because it was off the main strip. However, the hotel was truly delightful. It was nice and quiet and very clean. It was only about a block off of the main strip. We just loved the fireplace and how easy it was to use...we just had to flip on the switch. We loved that there were two clean robes available for us to use in the closet. And, we also enjoyed the full breakfast that I was available to us in the morning. We also liked the fact that it was very close to a local grocery store/deli so we were able to grab a bite to eat. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank amychav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

A beautiful Inn with great service! We were welcomed with a warm smile and sent off the same way. Daily breakfast was plentiful and delicious and evening wine and appetizers was fantastic! The homemade cookies, scones and hot evening dips gave it a personal touch that made you feel like you were visiting family. This Inn does not have AC which was difficult given the unseasonably warm weather but I understand no AC is typical for this area of CA given the usually cooler temperatures. They did provide a fan which helped and the windows do open to create a great cross breeze and add to the quaint atmosphere. The rooms that face the street are VERY noisy. Trash seems to comes daily round 5-6 am as well as street noise made it sometimes difficult at night but the cool breezes were amazing. Rooms were very clean but bathrooms could use small touch ups to rusting caulk, towel bars and shower knobs so that it will match the very clean and beautiful room. These minor things would not keep us from coming back!! It was a wonderful place to stay. Beautifully kept property with a great location. We were able to walk everywhere and the stroll back at night was utter perfection. Fireplace in our room and welcome note was a beautiful touch! Coachman Inn, thank you for making our 1st visit to Carmel perfect!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Ally3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews