We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had high hopes for our trip to Carmel. After staying at the Hyatt Highlands in Carmel several years ago, we decided to stay in the town itself. We were disappointed in our room, and actually checked out a day early. While there are many pluses to staying in town, the easy walk to the beach, great shops and dining, we were not prepared for the "inn" experience. We may have had too high an expectation. Unfortunately for us, there is a new building going up next door and the sound of hammers was constant during the day. The walls of the inn are very thin, and as we were on the second floor, we had noise above, below and beside us. Tip for those considering: ask for the third floor, and if possible an end unit. We were shocked at the level of noise and the inconsiderate neighbors who were very loud at all hours. Anyone traveling to Carmel must love dogs, and this inn also allows them. If you have allergies, then you will have issues. We felt that the bedding was subpar, and the carpeting was worn and had some suspicious spots. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly, and there is a wide variety of helpful guides right outside the office. The location is superb. Unfortunately the location could not make up for the noise and disappointment.

Room Tip: Top floor and end unit to avoid the noise from other guests. Currently there is a construction pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63TracyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying in downtown Camel. Honestly, we can never be the Park Hyatt Highlands Inn - that is a 4-star hotel considered one of the top properties in the United States. In checking their rates during your time frame, there rate would have been more than double the cost of our room and we are two completely different types of properties. Carmel is very dog friendly (about 40% of local hotels have at least one pet friendly room). We do apologize for the noise - one thing about Carmel is the historical nature of the town and when buildings were constructed -- walls do tend to be a bit thinner. In the future, if you do stay with us, simply contact the front desk and we can contact any guests that are being inconsiderate. The noise next door - unfortunately being in a residential town like Carmel there tends to be people remodeling/renovating in various locations all year round. They do have a permit for construction only on weekdays from 8 am - 5 pm when most of our guests are out exploring. This process of construction next door should be done in short order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    95
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
44
153
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Driving up the coast from LA to SF, we needed a place to stay. We called around and found the Coachman's Inn, and we are glad we did. We got a very comfortable room with two queen beds (very comfortable beds). We got to Carmel rather late and our hostesses left our room key taped to the office door (so very quaint!!). The location was perfect, and we enjoyed the stay very much. The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start our day as well. And we just loved Carmel!! Would def recommend this place to anyone.... Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycgreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for finding us and staying with us! Please come back and see us again soon.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are stating here now and are very impressed with the experience. The hotel has obviously spent a good amount of time and money making the room attractive and comfortable, down to the smallest details. Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prsaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again someday soon!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband, daughter, her friend and myself (4 people) just spent two nights here. Room was large and clean. Toiletries and towels plentiful. Room looked out directly on San Carlos Street so at times it was a little loud but we were mostly out so it was not a bother. Keurig coffee maker and a very simple continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning. Room rate was approx $229 per night - expensive normally but average for Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pashita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. Yes, this time is year is our peak season and rates are at their highest but they tend to range from the low to mid $100's up to the $200+ mark. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and everything that Carmel has to offer - it is such a wonderful city and most of our guests are out and about all day long before returning for a relaxing evening.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't listen to the whiny reviews. Coachman's Inn is a charming place to stay in Carmel. We stayed in a Deluxe King Room. The check in person was polite and friendly. Upon check in, you had the option of choosing certain breakfast items and the time you want it delivered to your room. The breakfast is exactly what it purports to be-a continental breakfast. It is not a sit down breakfast in a restaurant served with eggs, pancakes, waffles, or hash browns. We chose the ham and cheese croissant with cereal and orange juice. It was delivered promptly at the time we chose and it came in a cute decorative metal bucket. The croissants were decent, the cereal came pre-packaged with individual cartons of milk. The breakfast was plain, simple, and convenient. Period. If you want a full breakfast, you should go to a restaurant.
The room was cute and charming and offered a number of amenities There is a Keurig coffee maker in the room, there is a refrigerator, microwave, and a nice sized television (with satellite channels) mounted on the wall. The brass bed was comfortable and there was a cute fireplace in front of the bed which made for a romantic atmosphere.
The rates were pricey, but what do people expect? You're in Carmel! We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. You are right about breakfast - it is more of a light, continental breakfast for people on the go. When people are looking for more of a full, sit down breakfast we have many great restaurants with which to refer. We are glad you had a nice stay and please come back and see us.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very pleasant motel with luxury rooms but quite expensive, well placed on the Highway 1 route between La and SF. . Central to the town and walking distance to the magnificent beach. Don't miss the sun set. Everyone's there! Very pretty quiet, relaxing, spacious, well equiped room with log gas fire set in fireplace, large TV, free wifi, reception very friendly with welcoming drinks and cakes. Car parking good but not guaranteed; street parking available. Cold breakfast is delivered to room in a basket. .This is a modern chic holiday town with lots of small restuarants. Near the great 17 mile drive and the magnificent Monterey Aquarium. Monterey has cheaper more basic accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you noticing all of the little touches in the room that help make guests stay comfortable and convenient. Come back and see us!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Guidebooks were 1-for-2 on our California trip and the Coachman's Inn was the winner. A great location, with shops, a grocery store and restaurants within a short distance, this was the perfect place to stay in Carmel. Starting with cookies and apple juice upon arrival and a very nice continental breakfast, delivered in a bucket, we really wish we could stay more than one night. The desk was accommodating and suggested a restaurant, Flying Fish, that was one of the very best we visited on our trip. We hope to return to Carmel someday, and, if we do, we will try to book rooms again at the Coachman's Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odoyle584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to your return visit and will keep some fresh baked cookies waiting for you.

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a complimentary signature breakfast buffet each morning, as well as afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, in our beautiful Coach room. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A complimentary breakfast buffet for two each morning in the Coach Room -Complimentary afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres in the Coach room -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing