We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
212
138
40
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
138
40
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies great location san carlos wine and appetizers third floor room afternoon wine carmel by the sea within walking distance ocean avenue hot tub light breakfast parking is tight the main street shops and restaurants no elevator on site parking two queen beds
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 407 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Driving up the coast from LA to SF, we needed a place to stay. We called around and found the Coachman's Inn, and we are glad we did. We got a very comfortable room with two queen beds (very comfortable beds). We got to Carmel rather late and our hostesses left our room key taped to the office door (so very quaint!!). The location was perfect, and we enjoyed the stay very much. The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start our day as well. And we just loved Carmel!! Would def recommend this place to anyone.... Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycgreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for finding us and staying with us! Please come back and see us again soon.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We are stating here now and are very impressed with the experience. The hotel has obviously spent a good amount of time and money making the room attractive and comfortable, down to the smallest details. Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prsaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again someday soon!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband, daughter, her friend and myself (4 people) just spent two nights here. Room was large and clean. Toiletries and towels plentiful. Room looked out directly on San Carlos Street so at times it was a little loud but we were mostly out so it was not a bother. Keurig coffee maker and a very simple continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning. Room rate was approx $229 per night - expensive normally but average for Carmel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pashita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. Yes, this time is year is our peak season and rates are at their highest but they tend to range from the low to mid $100's up to the $200+ mark. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and everything that Carmel has to offer - it is such a wonderful city and most of our guests are out and about all day long before returning for a relaxing evening.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't listen to the whiny reviews. Coachman's Inn is a charming place to stay in Carmel. We stayed in a Deluxe King Room. The check in person was polite and friendly. Upon check in, you had the option of choosing certain breakfast items and the time you want it delivered to your room. The breakfast is exactly what it purports to be-a continental breakfast. It is not a sit down breakfast in a restaurant served with eggs, pancakes, waffles, or hash browns. We chose the ham and cheese croissant with cereal and orange juice. It was delivered promptly at the time we chose and it came in a cute decorative metal bucket. The croissants were decent, the cereal came pre-packaged with individual cartons of milk. The breakfast was plain, simple, and convenient. Period. If you want a full breakfast, you should go to a restaurant.
The room was cute and charming and offered a number of amenities There is a Keurig coffee maker in the room, there is a refrigerator, microwave, and a nice sized television (with satellite channels) mounted on the wall. The brass bed was comfortable and there was a cute fireplace in front of the bed which made for a romantic atmosphere.
The rates were pricey, but what do people expect? You're in Carmel! We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. You are right about breakfast - it is more of a light, continental breakfast for people on the go. When people are looking for more of a full, sit down breakfast we have many great restaurants with which to refer. We are glad you had a nice stay and please come back and see us.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A very pleasant motel with luxury rooms but quite expensive, well placed on the Highway 1 route between La and SF. . Central to the town and walking distance to the magnificent beach. Don't miss the sun set. Everyone's there! Very pretty quiet, relaxing, spacious, well equiped room with log gas fire set in fireplace, large TV, free wifi, reception very friendly with welcoming drinks and cakes. Car parking good but not guaranteed; street parking available. Cold breakfast is delivered to room in a basket. .This is a modern chic holiday town with lots of small restuarants. Near the great 17 mile drive and the magnificent Monterey Aquarium. Monterey has cheaper more basic accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you noticing all of the little touches in the room that help make guests stay comfortable and convenient. Come back and see us!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews