We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Carmel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Two Night Carmel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit to Carmel during Halloween. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel location (like many others there) is excellent with an abundance of dining, shopping, and beach access all within easy walking distance. While our room was impeccably clean, the carpet has long surpassed its service life and should be replaced. My only real objection to the hotel is the extremely poor insulation between rooms and floors. The hotel appeared less than half full during our first night there (Oct. 31) and it was calm, peaceful, and very enjoyable. However, on the following night the hotel was very busy and our upstairs neighbors were engaged in moderately loud conversation combined with continuous walking back and forth in their room until 2:30 in the morning. I could clearly follow their conversation and the continual heavy footsteps on our ceiling made sleeping nearly impossible until they retired.

We were on the second floor, I would not make that mistake again, and would strongly suggest that anyone staying there would demand a top level, third floor room during their stay. Of course, reduced alcohol consumption and a modicum of courtesy toward your temporary hotel neighbors would help to negate the lack of insulation between rooms and floors.

Room Tip: Poor building insulation necessitates a top level, third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear about any noise issues. In the future if you stay with us, please feel free to dial "0" for the hotel operator to let us know if there are any noise concerns so that we can address them (you are right - in any hotel, sometimes you have guest that may take their enjoyment to excessive levels). Many of the buildings in Carmel are historic and thus, the insulation is a bit different from a more modern hotel but we are looking in to ways to address this with our next remodel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    114
    35
    12
    4
See reviews for
51
206
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the kind of place we will always remeber! Clean, cozy and with one of the best beds we have ever slept on. It is quiet and well located, with nice area for parking. We agreed with the way breakfast is delivered in order to manitain rates. Nevethelesse, we think the quality of the items could be better. But we definetely would come back and recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarliAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We recently did a focus group on our breakfast items and will be working at making improvements while maintaining our good rates.

Kindly,
Karen, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for one night in September 2012. The comments about the construction work were valid. It is still ongoing. Did not bother us because were not in the room during the working hours. Payed 273$ for a one night stay. Got a 1st floor room (106) with a view straight to the street on the street level. This was very disappointing considering what we paid. The room was big and spacious. Because staying on the first floor the walking etc noises from upstairs were disturbing. Each morning at the inn, "we will hand deliver a light continental breakfast straight to your room! Wake up at your leisure and enjoy eating breakfast in the privacy of your own room or on one of our outdoor seating areas by yourself or meet up with new friends." Unfortunately this is more or less of an insult then anything else. I would definitely omit the advertisement all together of maybe try to put some more effort into it!!! Will probably not stay there next time and cannot recommend.

Room Tip: room # 106 first floor street level, expensive. Cannot recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeoReino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that it was not a completely positive experience. Our light continental breakfast currently consist of orange juice, cereal (with milk), yogurt and a pastry. Although the grand majority of our guests enjoy the way this is arranged, we have had a few people wanting more of a full breakfast (we had tried this in the past but the cost made our room rates go up beyond a level we were comfortable with all of our repeat guests). It sounds like the rate you paid must have been on a highly impacted night (perhaps when most, if not all, of the hotels in town were sold out and the average rates in town are in the $200 - $300 range). Typically, our mid-week rates during September (with Indian Summer one of the busiest months of the entire year) are closer to an average of $180 plus tax. If you have a chance can you email me at info@coachmansinn.com to let me know if it was the breakfast you were disappointed with (the description) or the available seating areas. Again, I really do appreciate your input and if you give us another chance we would like to make your stay the very best possible. Karen, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have lost count of how many times I have stayed here, but make an annual trip (sometimes two) to Carmel and stay nowhere else. Centrally located to the best restaurants, great shopping, art galleries and wine tasting. Ten muinute walk to sand beach on bay. Half hour to John Steinbeck's famous Cannery Row in Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for all of the years you have stayed with us! Over 80 percent of our customers are people, such as yourself, that come back 1 - 3 times a year and we consider you to be a "part of the family." Look forward to seeing you again soon. Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a fine stopping point for Carmel, with off-street parking, central location; rooms are OK (if a little noisy - but not bad). This stay was going fine until our breakfast arrived the next day - it was utterly miserly and cheerless - I wish they hadn't bothered. Cheerios, seriously? Can the Inn keeper really expect guests to appreciate this 'free' add on?
If 'Ryanair' means anything to readers of this review - then you know where I am going with this. It was out of step with the rest of the experience which was efficient, (the welcome was perfunctory, on a par with breakfast).
It seems to me that Carmel's hoteliers believe they have a captive market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElGordoVisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast. It is of more of the light continental variety meant to jump start the day. We are currently looking in to ways to augment it into something of a more hearty variety while maintaining our lead as one of the best values in Carmel. Believe me, our Innkeepers association appreciates all of the guest that come in to our area to visit us - people have a lot of choices of destinations. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

close to the main strip for shopping and eating, walk to beach. very clean and well maintained inn with a nice jacuzzi tub on the property with a flat screen TV to watch the game! Our only complaint was the the room was very warm and we had to open the windows and wait for it to cool down. the continental breakfast was perfect as it was delivered to our door as were packing up to continue our travel. great one night stop on our way down the pacific coast hwy, although a little too quiet of a town for me and very pricey. We actually went to Monterey for dinner and hanging out on the boardwalk, which was much more our speed, and only 10 up the road. I would stay there if I went back to this part of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannon1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and glad that you enjoyed watching the game! If I recall, that was during one of our rare "heat waves" in the area (about 5 days a year where our mild temps climb a bit higher). Those are the especially great days to take a walk out on the nearby beach or take a lunch break at one of the outdoor cafe's. Please see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from a tour of the States which included 2 nights at this hotel which was quaint, cosy and a lovely place to stay.

I have to say that I was a little sceptical as some of the photos that other travellers had posted didn't do this place justice but when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised.

The receptionist (Betty) greeted us and was very helpful assisting us with maps of the town and local area etc. They have cider and cookies in reception for you to help yourself to which is a nice touch and gratefully received after a long day of travelling!

Our room was perfectly adequate - clean, a good size and with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast is delivered to your room at the time you request it. Yes, it's simple, but it's better than nothing which is what we got in the other 4 hotels we stayed in! It also has ample free parking which is a bonus and means no extortionate valet fees!

Overall I have no complaints about this hotel at all and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for lodgings in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We always do our best to be friendly and helpful and provide comfortable accommodations as you explore our beautiful area. Betty says "thank you" your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, between 7th and 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman's Inn has 30 spacious, comfortable rooms, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and thoughtful amenities. Guests appreciate all these attributes, but perhaps most attractive of all is the location. Step out the front door and the charm of Carmel-by-the-Sea is in every direction. The white sand beach? A five-minute stroll. The Sunset Center, Monterey's premier arts venue? One block away. Boutiques, restaurants, galleries and wine tasting rooms? You're surrounded! One of the newest locations to be added to the Four Sisters Inn Collection, the Coachman's Inn resembles more of a small hotel than a bed-and-breakfast inn. Guests enjoy a complimentary signature breakfast buffet each morning, as well as afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, in our beautiful Coach room. Romantic escape or girlfriends' getaway, the Coachman's Inn has a guestroom that is just right. Each of our newly updated rooms features a private bath, and king or queen bed with luxurious linens. Some rooms offer two queen beds, or inner doors connecting two rooms - perfect for families or friends traveling together. Some rooms have cozy fireplaces or jetted spa tubs. Our innkeeper will help you select the guestroom that best suits your needs. Rates include: -A complimentary breakfast buffet for two each morning in the Coach Room -Complimentary afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres in the Coach room -Large, flat-panel television and DirecTV service -Wireless Internet service -In-room Keurig coffee maker, mini-fridge and microwave -Two plush, cozy bathrobes and signature amenities -Freshly baked cookies each afternoon -Use of hot tub and dry sauna -Onsite or convenient street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing