We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$492
$389
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,003
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$400
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$569
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$311
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$900
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
198
132
39
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
132
39
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationsan carloswine and appetizersthird floorafternoon winecarmel by the seaocean avenuewithin walking distancehot tublight breakfastparking is tightthe main streetno elevatoryogurtno air conditioningshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 385 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I seem to be in the minority when it comes to reviews of this property. I did not enjoy it as much as most. One thing I was very happy about was the location which was spot on. The property is clean and well maintained. A couple of things just really bugged me:

1. The windows all faced into the walkway between rooms. You had to decide between privacy and cool air (no a/c available).
2. The walls seemed very thin. We could clearly hear the conversations between the people in the room next door.
3. You really should not say a property has all the qualities of a b&b and then serve the breakfast they offer. Yes, they say its limited, but dry bread with no butter or jam?

Parking is limited, but we always found a space. Staff was very friendly. It all made for an ok but not great couple of days.

Room Tip: It looked like some of the rooms may have had windows facing out rather than into the courtyard. I would ask for those.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchidking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do read and take all comments seriously.

1. Yes, most inns in Carmel have a similar architecture with common walkways (similar to a hotel but there is a window facing in towards the central area). There are just a handful of air-conditioned properties on the entire Peninsula due to our mild climate but if you do choose to return to us, please let us know and we do have fans that we can provide.
2. Kind of another Carmel thing - walls can be a bit on the thinner side due to the historic nature of the properties in our town (insulation mandates were different) - we are working on some fixes for this though.
3. Sorry about the breakfast. I will check with my staff - our baked goods are delivered fresh but apparently it was not as fresh as it should have been during your stay. Please accept our apologies.

We truly appreciate you staying with us and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff. Our owners are dedicated to continually improving our inn and your comments have been very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

So convenient to everything. Very nice host. Warm cookies and cider at 5pm. Limited parking but wasn't a problem for us. Room was comfortable and had a fire place. Has a hot tube area. This is were I will be when I return.

Room Tip: The rooms along the side are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noblehousecatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We brought son's family with us on our second stay here at the Coachman's Inn. He competed in a cycling race at Laguna Seca, while my daughter-in-law and grandson went to the beach. We all went to the aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf on day 3. This great location made it possible for us to have the best of everything - cycling, shopping, beach-going and sight-seeing. Breakfast delivered every morning, a great market down the street for snacks (and even take-out roasted chicken dinner for the whole family one night), free internet access, a jacuzzi for evening relaxation. And, of course, the charm and friendly atmosphere at Coachman's Inn make it the perfect home-away-from-home for our family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you Patricia for your return visit. The Sea Otter Classic has become quite a large event for our area! We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We loved this inn. The owners were incredibly friendly, the location is perfect, rooms are clean, breakfast is served in an adorable little basket and is just what you hope it will be- it was just great and they even had parking. The only possible downside was that our room tended to get extremely hot and we could not find a way to lower the temperature without opening a window (which then forces you to hear everything going on outside including the two late night hot tubbers breaking the inn rules!).

If we ever make it back to Carmel we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberlynyc1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us! Despite our moderate climate, every now and then we get some warm days (because of this just about every hotel and inn in Carmel does not have air conditioning - but we do have fans available : ) ) If we have the pleasure of hosting you again, just let us know what we can do to make your stay great (including us getting those hot tubbers out of the tub at the proper time ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived at 9:40PM on a cold April Sunday night and it was a true delight entering our warm, cozy room. The city is very dark at night (no street lights whatsoever), so we almost missed the small entryway to the Coachman`s Inn. Once we parked our car, we noticed there wasn`t anybody in the office/reception and we were immediatelly worried about being locked out/forgotten! Fortunatelly, they left the keys taped outside one of the doors to the Reception, which closed at 9PM. Once we got inside our rooms, we realized somethings were left in the car, so we carelessly left the room and left the keys inside, having us locked out in the cold!! That was trully the worst part of the evening. Luckily, we were able to call the reception and a lady provided us with a second set of keys. Her response to our call wasn`t the most courteous, neither was her attitude when she stepped out of her room and demanded us to walk down and pick up the keys, but.. Oh well.... I`m just glad we got back into that room. We had trouble finding something to eat that night, there was no room service, no late delivery or late night restaurants available... (please note that it was around 10:30PM) so, as a last resort, we drove to a 24 hour market and brought some food over to the hotel... The rest of the night was ok, the bed was really comfortable, the bathroom was decent and the fireplace gave it a romantic touch! Considering the pricey options in Carmel I can say this was a decent deal... It would have been much better if we had advance notice that there wouldn`t be anybody at the Reception after 09PM, or if we had some local help with eating venues at Carmel... I would recomend this hotel, but make sure you arrive during daytime!!!

Room Tip: Arriving during daytime will make things much easier from finding the hotel, to having support from the front desk and also in finding places to dine.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMResstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying with us all the way from Brazil! I do remember that evening and my apologies if I was a little sleepy. We did have the second set of keys for your room and waited to provide them for you downstairs but I think we had a miscommunication as far as getting those to you (I believe you were waiting for them to be delivered to your room and we were waiting down in the office - sorry about that). If we know someone is coming in past closing time, we let guests know that their key will be in a key packet at the front door (most smaller Carmel Inns do this because of the live-in manager instead of a night-time clerk). Yes, Carmel does get pretty quiet after 10 PM (part of its charm). We do have several pubs in town that serve a late night menu but it appears we did not get that information to you (we keep some activity guides/brochures outside the lobby area but at last check nothing about late night dining). If you do make it back from Brazil to California, please do call me personally and I will make sure we have everything ready for your stay including some great recommendations for dining and activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews