We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$492
$288
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,003
$799
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$400
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$675
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$311
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$588
$513
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$239
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$539
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$900
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
198
132
39
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
132
39
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationsan carloswine and appetizersthird floorafternoon winecarmel by the seaocean avenuewithin walking distancehot tublight breakfastparking is tightthe main streetno elevatoryogurtno air conditioningshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 385 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I had a top floor King with fireplace and couldn't have been more pleased. Normally, I don't go for an exterior corridor hotel, but the covered outside walkway (south facing for a nice bit of sun) served as a nice place to relax with a morning coffee on bench & chairs placed outside the rooms. The room itself was tastefully decorated with relaxing white and tan colors and an interior with enough features to be visually interesting without being too busy. Bathroom was in white decorative tile, very clean. The exterior has been renovated within the past year and half and looked well done. I was happy to find a food market with a small outside patio a half block away with already prepared sandwiches for a quick bite on our way to the beach. It was nice to be in a calm place just a block or so from the main streets of shops and restaurants and it was only a short walk to the beach from there. I was also pleased to have a 30 something inch Sharp Aquos high def tv for late evening viewing (and a bit of NFL post-season while wife soaked in the bath). All in all, we felt it was a good value and we'll for sure be coming back for another relaxing weekend when we need to get away from it all. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, General Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thanks for your comments Rudy. Although football season is winding down, baseball season is just right around the corner for your viewing pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at the Coachmans on a trip down to LA from SF. The Inn is in a great location, and there is plenty of parking. The room was good, a comfortable King bed and smallish bathroom - not a soaking bath. Good gas fire. They do not have a restaurant, but it is within walking distance of all the main streets.

The only problem was the breakast - a bucket is left outside your room, with a yoghurt, orange juice and small croissant. You choose what you want as you check in. Being lactose intolerant and allergic to Oranges, this left me with a small dry crossisant for breakfast - even though I aksed whether there was any other choices on arrival. The concept is good - however the delivery fails to live up to expecations. I would rather not pay for the 'breakfast' element and go elsewhere.

If you do have luggage - there is no lift and no offer of assistance with it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_eyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, General Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments, Jane - we really appreciate your advice. As with most Carmel properties, we do not have an elevator (3 stories) but someone should have offered assistance with your luggage. As far as breakfast, we do serve more of a light continental (complimentary - no surcharge - just an added amenity) but we will certainly look in to having some options on hand for the reasons you mentioned (lactose intolerant).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Coachman's Inn every Christmas since 1999 and there is no other place we even consider when we stay in glorious Carmel!
I can list all pros and no cons when it comes to this wonderful inn:
Great location (park your car in their ample lot and just walk everywhere ... everything is close;
Beautiful rooms, many with fireplaces, and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on in a hotel anywhere;
VERY clean and rooms always in perfect shape and beautifully decorated -- I have never seen even one paint chip!;
A staff, led by Karen Redmond, that is second to none - courteous, helpful, pleasant, always smiling;
Quiet, quiet, quiet. Between the amazing beds and the peacefulness of the location, you will be thoroughly relaxed when you leave ... this is IF you want to leave!
I have read the other reviews here and I don't want to be redundant. All I can say is if you are coming to this very special whimsical village, make it easy on yourself and simply call and book a room at Coachman's Inn.
As the song says: "Don't worry ... be happy!"

Room Tip: Not a bad room at the Inn!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArlenPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, General Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thanks, Arlen. We love our repeat guests - it is like being visited by family for the holidays. We appreciate all of your nice comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Very nice rooms with Ralph Lauren Bedding and cozy fireplaces. All baths have a deep tup. Try to book the rooms on the south side of the hotel, they are larger with whirlpool tubs. Staff is freindly and the location is perfect for shopping and a short walk to the beach. And the price is a bargin for Carmel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotheads1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for your kind review! The owner and I personally shop for all of the bedding and furnishings at the hotel. Our Luxury King rooms (the ones with the jacuzzi tubs) are our most popular for honeymoons and anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Coachman's Inn has a great location in Carmel. It is not located on busy Ocean Avenue, but a couple of blocks from there on San Carlos. It is very easy to walk to a wide variety of shopping, eating, and wine tasting! The rooms are well-appointed with furnishings and the necessities for an enjoyable stay. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and especially enjoyed the fresh baked cookies every afternoon as well as the complimentary continental breakfast brought to the room each morning. Having a coffee maker in the room was very nice as well. The rooms were kept very clean by an efficient housekeeping staff. The only downsides to our stay were the noise from above and below our room and the lack of sufficient parking spaces. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay with our daughter and son-in-law.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms would be quieter; particulary rooms starting with 303.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments! The Keurig coffee makers were one of our favorite additions to the rooms during our latest renovation. Nothing beats a great cup of coffee! Our parking can sometimes be limited on sold out nights but please inquire with our front desk as they can point out some great parking spots directly adjacent to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Karen
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews