We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Charming and can't beat the location”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #17 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed there a week ago and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the petite and very comfortable room at the top of the stairs and around the back. It was so quiet too. There are some great touches like robes and complimentary sherry. The room comes equipped with a small refrigerator and complimentary water bottles. They even delivered a small breakfast basket to our room in the morning. The location is unbeatable too. You can walk to everything. We also booked via United Airlines Mileage Plus. I was very pleased with the rate, but even more so with the room and friendly service. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 314 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2009

We were so pleasantly surprised with our stay at Monte Verde Inn. For starters Carmel is stunning, peaceful and has great art and food. We stayed at the Monte Verde Inn for just one night on a road trip through California. Our room was compact but beautiful. Presentation was fabulous and we had a free bottle of sherry in our room. The bathroom was lovely!! We found the staff to be friendly and had a lovely nights sleep.

The other lovely thing was that breakfast of muffins, yoghurt and boiled eggs was delivered to our door in a basket in the morning...

Really recommend this place for couples. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ckelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I had the priviledge of staying the Monte Verde Inn in Carmel. When we checked in the gentleman at the desk was very nice and helpful. We had a comfortable suite with 2 queen beds and a little extra room with a daybed. My 4-year old daughter enjoyed the extra little room, she thought it was fun to have her own bed. The room was very large and the bathroom was exuisite. It a had a huge soaking tub and a spacious shower. In the morning they delivered a basket of yogurt, muffins, boiled eggs, and juice.The lady at the desk when we checked out was also extremely helpful and kind. The stay at the Monte Verde was just perfect. It was in a great location and a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrtucker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed in room #9 which was small, but perfectly fine for us for only 2 nights. I think all of the rooms are remodeled which is a plus - ours had a pretty nice bathroom complete with a large shower and separate whirlpool tub. The location of the inn is great, right off Ocean Ave so close to all restaurants, shops, and the beach. I would note that it does share a deck area with another room, which was fine with us because the couple we stayed next too were very nice. Also, since it is right off the main street in Carmel, it isn't the most quiet and peaceful location in the area but we preferred it because it allowed us to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaJules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

I would totally recommend this inn it is so close to the ocean and real close to shopping. I loved the location for sure and the people at the desk are the most friendly and they were so helpful with places to go and things to do Vicky at the front was the best

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goofy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

First and foremost, this inn was lovely. The room was clean, pretty, comfortable and close to everything. The special touches like wonderful robes, flowers, complimentary sherry, a breakfast delivered to the door are beyond welcome and wonderful. That being said, our only negative was that we booked two side by side rooms, as were were traveling with our three teens. When we arrived we were told that there, in fact, was no roll away, which was promised, but we could take the family room, which was ostensibly more money, but they wouldn't charge us more. While the room, slept 5, I really would have preferred a private room for my husband and me, as I planned. Oh well! The place deserves a better rating. It really was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Very quaint. Its easy charm, comfort and understated luxury matched the Carmel vibe perfectly. The staff treated us like family.

Thank withBobJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $177 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing