We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and not so chic”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #19 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shabby and not so chic”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked on the special offer otherwise would probably have rated lower. As with the last review it's evident some areas have been scrimped on...shower a bit mouldy etc and furnishings a bit tired. Comfy mattress though. Can't fault location and the music in courtyard during the wine socials in evening was nice. Just overall a bit worn and tired with fairly chaotic approach to admin.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloSunshine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Shabby and not so chic!

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations, our hotels and housekeeping staff strive to exceed industry standards and provide the best possible facilities to our guest. In more than three years we have had great reviews, however, we must be slipping to have received two such disappointing reviews in as many days.

We thank you for bringing these items to our attention so that we can focus our efforts on improvement. Our hope is that you revisit our Inns in the future with much better experiences.

Respectfully,

Karen Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    87
    22
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
191
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Monte Verde for three nights. Our room was small, but we figured it would be since we were booking for value. The room itself was very cute and the little patio was great. The only thing that would have improved the room is a retractable screen over the sky light since the morning sun hit us right at 7:30. Other than that, we had a great experience at the Monte Verde. The location was perfect - right next to Ocean Ave yet still very quiet and just a few blocks from the beach. The breakfast basket was a good start to the day. We'd happily come back here (just maybe in a different room!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostlyworktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Great stay!

Thank you for your review of June 27, 2014 of our property at Monte Verde Inn in Carmel. we sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know that you have enjoyed your stay, despite the small rooms and that ever present Carmel California sun peaking in through the skylight., how annoying to be woken up so early.

We like your idea and will be looking into some alternative covering for the skylight. Usually, we hear that our guest are awaken by the crows looking for a morning meal out of the breakfast basket, they can also be annoying, but what a beautiful area to be annoyed by sun and crows.

We love that we are so close to the beach that at night you can hear the waves crashing and on many nights an amazing sunset awaits.

Please come back and we would be happy to have you try another room, as a suggestion room number 7 at Monte Verde has a partial ocean view a nice deck, and no skylight, but plenty of windows.

Karen Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Staying here May 30th 2014
Room beside office, love the fireplace, bed very comfortable, great location, and good service.
Free wine tasting and bottled water on request,
Big bottle of free Sherry above Fireplace.
Great Italian restaurant on corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel is older but has been remodeled for an antique-ish experience. Front desk woman was fabulous! Room was very cozy and comfy. A bottle of sherry was left for us to enjoy in the evening and a generous breakfast basket with fresh fruit, pastries , juice, yogurt was delivered to our door. Delightful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Perfect little getaway. We stayed in a cozy little room with a beautiful little patio just outside our door. Location was perfect for walking through town or strolling the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice light breakfast delivered to our room each morning. Would highly recommend it and we will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a lovely warm welcome at this excellent inn. Clean and comfortable rooms in a very well located and pretty part of Carmel. Our host was helpful and extremely kind and we felt immediately welcome. We were offered 2 rooms (for a family of 4) at a very reasonable cost and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellamac139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a cute little place. We booked a groupon deal with them and got a queen room. It was a very small room, but so perfect and the bathroom was large, very nice and clean. We loved the sherry that came with the room, and the breakfast basket in the AM was a perfect breakfast. It was easy walking to the shops in Carmel and to the beach for the sunset. The bed was comfy and we would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: We chose room 8 I believe with a little balcony attached to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libbiroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Property: Monte Verde Inn
Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing