We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #17 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an amazing place, we have really enjoyed our stay here.. The room was perfect and very very clean, bed so very comfy, wifi, sherry, quiet and had a great nights sleep.. Defiantly 5 stars.. Thank you for a great stay..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose Monte Verde inn for a one-night stop in Carmel based on tripadvisor reviews. The very pleasant young man at reception told us that our queen bedded room had been upgraded to a king size room, which was at the back of the hotel. In fact, we think it was once a stable. Although nicely decorated and appointed and very clean, with what was a comfy bed and reasonable shower room, the closet was filled with a small frig which meant we couldn't hang up the hanging suitcase we had with us (we were on our way to a wedding in San Francisco). The nice touch was bottle of sherry and sherry glasses waiting for us, but the breakfast the next day, delivered to our door at 8.45 as promised, was only a couple of cold pain au chocolates, some yogurt (which my husband doesn't eat) and a packet of craisins and a bottle of juice-drink. Not terribly appetising.. The receptionist did suggest some restaurants in town and we took him up on his suggestion, but the restaurant was pretentious, fairly expensive for what it was and overrated. More fools us for eating there. A big plus, tho, for this hotel, is the free parking and the position of the hotel which, as mentioned by other reviewers, is in the heart of the town and near the beach, and easy to find. It also has a pleasant little courtyard in which to sit and drink your sherry, but overall, we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetF830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a night here for myself and my husband. We were living in Pebble Beach for a year and had always wanted to do a staycation in Carmel. Check-in was smooth and easy. We were given a bottle of wine and 2 wine tasting passes to Chateau Julien. We relaxed in our room for a bit and set off to be tourist in one of our favorite towns. Our bed slept very comfortably. The shower was nice and warm and the towels fluffy. Breakfast came to our room via a basket. It was all charming. We loved our stay here and if we ever visit Carmel again, as we have moved now, we would definitely stay at Monte Verde Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My then-fiance/now-husband and I were planning our June 2013 destination wedding in Carmel. In Aug 2012, we were looking for a hotel to block off a set of rooms for our guests. We looked at over 20 hotels/inns/cottages and felt that this was the best one that fit our needs and aesthetics. We were looking for a sweet non-cookie cutter hotel that had a little special something. As soon as we took a look around, we knew that this was the place. The rooms and courtyard were so charming, the location was amazing; close to the beach and downtown, the prices were reasonable, and the staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Leora, the manager, helped us choose rooms to block off and was always available and helpful to our guests as they booked their rooms. She was always prompt to answer our emails and any questions that we had.

We ended up booking room #11 for 3 nights. We're so pleased with the room.

The night before the wedding, because of some unexpected weather issues, we were not able to have our sunset beach bonfire the next day. Instead of having to cancel, we were able to have our bonfire in the courtyard at the Inn and it was really wonderful. The day after the wedding, they gave us a complimentary goodbye champagne brunch. It was beyond anything I could have asked for. The food was unbelievable (catered by Lisa) and they also had someone there playing guitar for us. There are not enough good things I could say about this place and the people who work there. They helped make my wedding weekend unforgettable. I can't wait to go back on my anniversary. All of our friends and family who stayed there also enjoyed themselves immensely. Even my tough to please mom was delighted. :)

Room Tip: Even though the Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are all part of the same Inn, we definitely prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vhoornstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is a little gem. Reception staff were really helpful - great restaurant tips and Big Sur guide. The rooms were full of character and warming. It is right in the centre of town and eat to walk to the beach and shops. Free parking and a lovely breakfast basket in the morning with pastries, juice, fruit and yoghurts. We had 2 rooms and both were lovely.

There is also a seating area at the rear and if you ask they will put a log on the burner for a nice place to sit in the evening. When you are done here the beds are really comfortable with 'collapse into' mattress toppers.

If you need a place to stay in Carmel I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RooActon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I could not believe how friendly the staff was! They walked us to our Casa Queen room, poured us a glass of wine, and made sure a little inconvenience was fixed immediately (along with giving us a bottle of wine as an apology!). When we couldn't attend the evening social, Lisa saved some of the food for us to enjoy after our night out! We were moved to Queen Room 8 overlooking the courtyard our second night, and loved it. The Inn's location is wonderful (we never needed our car), and if you're in Carmel to get out and see the sights, stay here as a very convenient, inexpensive home base. I preferred the unique Monte Verde Inn room over the downstairs Casa de Carmel room we started with. We will definitely be back - although if I expected to spend a lot of time in my room, I'd spend the extra money and book the condo to have the living space and view (we took a peak, and it's beautiful!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llc95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Checked into room 101. Small but comfy. The young man who checked us in and out was very helpful and gave us great tips on the area. Was only there for one night. Would highly recommend for short visits. Check out their web special rates for affordable rates in desirable Carmel location within walking distance of dining, shopping and beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MappyPhoenixAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $176 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing