We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Adobe Inn. We enjoyed the continental breakfast delivered to our door each morning. It included your choice of cereal, muffin, fruit, and juices. The items were fresh and tasty. Add some in-room Starbuck's coffee and it is a good start to your day. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bedroom area was spacious and the beds comfortable. The only drawbacks were a lack of lighting in the room. The only light in the room was one table lamp between the beds, a light over the coffee bar, and a small light by the door. There was no lighting for the lovely 2 leather chairs, so in the evening, these chairs were dark and unusable. We were in room #39, which is surrounded by exterior walkways. Both mornings, I swear someone was bouncing a ball against the outside wall of our room. In the evening, we were annoyed by the constant rolling of carts and other noise from the restaurant down stairs. If I stayed here again, I would request a room away from the restaurant. This Inn is close to Ocean Ave. and all the shops and restaurants Carmel has to offer. Underground parking is included, which is a big plus in Carmel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    131
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
116
194
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

I searched and searched for the right hotel to stay at during our time in Carmel. I travel a lot, so tend to be a little bit pickier with where I stay. This place did not disappoint!! Glad we chose at the Adobe Inn. We stayed in a newly remodeled King Corner Ocean. Loved the fireplace and comfy leather chairs, quiet setting made for a great sleep!! Easy off street parking. The robes could have been a little plusher, but that's our only complaint. The room was so cozy and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. Speaking of food, we had amazing meals at Little Napoli (garlic bread, grilled artichoke and osso busco ravioli) as well as Dametra Cafe - be sure to make a reservation. Really enjoyed sunsets on the beach, Point Lobos State Park, Monterey Aquarium, Hwy 1, etc, etc. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfile472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at The Adobe Inn for our Wedding Anniversary(October 2010). I called to make the reservations under a AAA discount,this was honored.
There are 2 floors to this Inn, accessible by the elevator in the parking garage or on the 1st floor or the 2nd floor. We were in room 33 which faces Dolores(this was a King Village View). Nice balcony with 2 chairs and a table and fresh flowers in the planter boxes.
The bathroom had oatmeal soap,body lotion, and conditioning shampoo all by O2 Oxygen by Emporium Inc. A hair dryer was in the very spacious closet.
The bathroom included a combo tub/shower with a heat lamp timer.
In the closet were 4 wooden hangers and 2 padded ones that held 2 terry cloth robes with Adobe Inn embroidered on them.
The TV cabinet in the bedroom area was awkwardly placed,but perfect if you sat in either of the 2 leather chairs. This TV was an RCA regular TV;not flat screened and did not have a sleep timer in which I could find. A DVD player was also in the TV cabinet.
The parking is complimentary with a tag placed on your dashboard.(this is great as parking on the street in Carmel is I believe only 2 hrs at peak times)
The complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room on a silver tray at 8:30am to 9:00 am, 9:00am to 9:30am, or 9:30am to 10am. The choices are selected via a hang tag that you put out on your door knob by 9pm. The choices are fresh muffin,instant oatmeal,corn flakes, granola with low fat milk or non fat milk,piece of fresh fruit,orange or apple juice,low fat or nonfat milk. A coffee maker with Starbucks coffee is in the room as well as a bar sink with refrigerator below.
The fireplace works with a flip of the switch and kept the room cozy. There is baseboard heat but no A/C. A fan was in the closet on the shelf.
We utilized the complimentary wireless internet in the room.
A 1 night deposit was taken at the time of the reservation.
The outdoor pool looked nice but the weather was a little too cool out for us to go in.
Very friendly staff.
There is a restaurant on premise,but we did not try it.
I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Trip:
Anniversary trip with husband - October 29th thru October 31st. Paid $180+tax per night. Tip: Since we had narrowed down our hotel options down to 5, we called the night before we left and decided that the best rate would win our stay! We got a last minute special off our room. It was originally at $215 per night room (I think)... so we saved some money this way. Also many hotels offer AAA discounts, etc.

The Room:
We stayed in room #37 "Horizon View King Room w/Fireplace". Decor was nice... updated... not "grandma" like most other inns we looked at. Nice bedding, soft feather pillows, leather sitting chairs, gas fireplace, high ceilings, lots of room (corner room in building). The balcony was "L" shape... very large, although we rarely used it... only to check the weather...haha. The "horizon ocean view" is a peak through the trees, but in Carmel, there is hardly an Inn with full ocean views. The bathroom wasn't anything special... typical hotel bathroom. Toilet & tub/shower combo in one room... vanity outside. Vanity was nice... lots of room, big mirror. Closet had 2 robes... typical terry cloth robes..not too "plush". The was a little "bar" which held a sink and coffee pot with mini fridge below. Provided Starbucks coffee for machine. TV was a tub TV in cabinet... had DVD player which was nice...we watched a few movies.

Hotel offerings and details:
The hotel lobby is small, but who cares... unless your planning on hanging out in the lobby. Had check-in desk... information brochures, etc. 2 chairs and fireplace.
The parking is nice. They have an underground parking a garage with elevator (& stairs) that take you up to main floor and 2nd floor of inn.
The grounds of Inn aren't anything spectacular, but nice... lots of greenery, flowering plants (even in late October), etc. Location was great... on a main street with restaurants and 1 block from Ocean Ave. which was the 'main drag'

Continental breakfast... kind of like ordering breakfast on a cruise (if you've been on one) long card you hang outside your door handle at night once you've filled out. Basic options... oatmeal, corn flakes, fruit, 2 types of muffin offered (triple-berry... AMAZING... and pumpkin spice), juice, milk, etc. It was good enough for us. ohh no coffee french press like on website (for all those coffee fans out there.... bring your own).

Overall Thoughts:
While in Carmel, my husband and I visited some other inns in the area and ones we were debating between in making our selection. We visited & looked at an actual room at: Carmel Fireplace Inn, Cobblestone Inn, and the a few of the "inns by the sea" : Candlelight Inn, Dolphin Inn & Svendsgaard's Inn. I've reviewed each on their own page and posted pictures of the rooms we saw. Fireplace inn, Candlelight Inn, Dolphin Inn & Svendsgaard's Inn are all either next to each other or across the street from each other (along with the Briarwood Inn (which is owned by the same people as the Fireplace Inn).

I still felt after seeing all of these that our room at the Adobe Inn was the best room. My opinion.

Feel free to ask any questions if you have them... our trip is fresh on my mind! We had a wonderful time in Carmel. Cute town... great for an anniversary trip... quiet, quaint and charming.

** Photos I'm uploading. Trip Advisor only lets you upload 3 photos per post, so I'm posting several so I can show you more photos **

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Great inn in Carmel........we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room and the unexpected amenities. A continental breakfast of our choice was delivered to our room daily at the specific time we chose. The staff is pleasant and extremely helpful. Great location within walking distance of the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedoublehue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

A renovated '80s hotel for a reasonable stay in Carmel. Rooms are on two levels with outside access walkways (stay on the upper level). Pool is small but works for a cool dip. Parking is free and conveniently right below. The fireplace was nice as the day we arrived was cool and foggy (that didn't last as the sun soon came out). View of the sea from the deck was being cut off by the neighbour's tree but that also brought lots of birds around. Our room had two decks: one for morning; one for afternoon.
Breakfast was brought to the room: granola, fruit, juice, etc. Adequate though the fruit could have been better than the typ. "white" Calif. strawberries.
Being close to the village centre was very handy for walks, restaurants and shopping.
Staff were professional and helpful when asked.
Overall the price was a little high for only a good but not inspiring or memorable, hotel. Next time I stay at Eastwood's Mission Ranch for about the same price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedarhill4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
92651
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed for three nights in room 35 - with balcony on a side street. Our room was large, quiet and the bed very comfortable. While not luxurious, the hotel is well appointed. The staff is terrific - very warm and friendly. They have underground parking which is very convieient. The ability to walk to all the restaurants and shopping in the village is a benefit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian92651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: Dolores and 8th, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing