We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adobe Inn a peaceful location in the centre of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adobe Inn a peaceful location in the centre of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely hotel just off the main street in central Carmel, close to restaurants and a great cafe located one block away.

Friendly staff, breakfast available in your room in the morning, we had a large room with a balcony and nearby trees giving privacy. A fireplace in the rooms for cooler nights. A small (heated) pool is available but the sea is close

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    122
    40
    20
    10
See reviews for
105
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

beautiful location, great Customer service,
if there is one thing that we would like to be better, it is the breakfast, as they serve only muffins.
We like to have fresh bread and butter + somothing like cheese or meet ot put on it.
we asked bread, and received croissants which is also good.

we would definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time with the family. Can walk everywhere you need and they have a garage to park the car indoors which is great in Carmel. Having the balcony to set out and enjoy the day was wonderful and very nice for the children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Dennis C,
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend your family time at Adobe Inn. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff at Adobe were fantastic. Friendly and responsive to requests. You felt instantly at home when you got to the room which was a good size, had a lovely balcony looking towards the ocean and to top it all a roaring log fire. Centrally located for the middle of Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkspur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two years ago and returned recently, but I'm afraid the place has gone somewhat downhill. Our room was spacious and quiet, but there were so many maintenance issues that we're not inclined to return. The worst problem was the hot water, which worked intermittently. One of the room keys didn't work (and, by the way, these are the old fashioned metal keys, which at best aren't as secure as the plastic cards.) The fireplace didn't work - and in Carmel it's nice to take the chill off in the morning, even in July. There was a burned out light bulb, and the refrigerator could not be opened without the door hitting the shelf.

Adding to the disappointment was the fact that the Adobe Inn's outstanding restaurant and bar are now closed. The hotel still delivers a small breakfast to the room, but it is really minimal - a sweet muffin, granola, and fruit.

I'll be watching further reviews to see if the hotel's maintenance improves. If so, this could yet be a decent value for pricey Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank widelenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I would like to thank you for returning at Adobe Inn and submitting a review of our property. We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. My sincere apologies that you didn’t get to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest of your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the things that didn't go well, and rest assured that we will address each area of your concern. In hopes that you will give us another chance in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact me as I wish to ensure you'll have a lovely stay.

Sincerely,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Adobe Inn in Carmel. What a great experience! Spacious room with a fireplace, large bathroom and dressing area. Even received complimentary continental breakfast. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend, and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aracely L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Aracely L,
We would like to thank you for choosing to spend your family time at Adobe Inn. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife ,son and I have just returned from a trip to California where we drove from LA to San Francisco and we decided to stay in Carmel for a couple of days. A friend suggested the Adobe Inn as a central place to stay in Carmel. The accommodation was very clean and spacious with everything that we needed including secure underground parking .
The Adobe Inn was in a great location for Carmels shops and also to visit Monterey and Pebble Beach .The manager Sergio was also very friendly and helpful in sorting out our booking at very short notice and advising us on where to go and eat and what to do.
If your stopping in Carmel this is a very good option.

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroom room was 31 which had excellent facilities and 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing