We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My fiance and I stayed in Carmel for 3 days at Adobe Inn. We were amazed at the presentation of the room and how clean everything was - Cleanest, softest carpet for a hotel that I've ever been to, including some upscale places. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were relatively quiet. Breakfast was modest but delicious and served beautifully. They even served us breakfast on the last day even though we forgot to indicate a food preference. The only issues were that the doors tend to slam due to wind pressure so I was woken up once or twice, and the headboards in our room bumped against the wall (a spare guest towel helped). Overall I would say the value was greater than I expected because of the beautiful ocean view out our patio door. A+ for most relaxing vacation ever :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your time to share with us your experience at Adobe Inn. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind remarks. We hope to see you again next time you're in Carmel.
We hope to see you again!
Sincerely,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    131
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
116
194
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the spacious two bedroom suite with fireplace. The floor plan is basically two connecting bedrooms with 2 ensuite baths and 2 balconies but no shared living area. The only entrance/exit was the main door so our teen-aged kids had to come through our room to get in and out. This was awkward for sleeping-in, privacy, etc. There is a small wetbar, but the refrigerator needed to be defrosted and didn't work very well. No cutlery is provided except with breakfast. Breakfast was very basic but fine and brought on time. The rooms were clean, but dated. It still looks like a 1970's motor inn, which is charming in its own way, but it is time for new bathroom fixtures, carpet, drapes, etc. Water pressure was not good in the master bath. The price was quite high for this room and I think I could have gotten better value for money elsewhere. However, service was fine and the location excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Highly recommend this gem in Carmel-By-The-Sea! The Adobe Inn's location is AMAZING you are within walking distance to Ocean Avenue, which is the main drag in Carmel-By-The-Sea. Customer Service is really taken seriously by the staff here. Everything from check-in to check-out process was smooth. The ladies that work the front desk are well educated about the area and always had great recommendations about the area! If I ever had any request from dinner reservations to finding a cab company thats affordable they immediately jumped on it and took care of my family and I. The Adobe Inn's main manager, Sergio Javier, provided such magnificent, professional, and caring service to all of us. He made us feel as if we were his priority. He made our family feel extremely welcomed and at home which is a hard characteristic to find in Hotel managers. This experience has definitely been one to remember, rooms are gorgeous, spacious, have fireplaces, they even have a heated swimming pool!
The Adobe Inn certainly knows how to pick top notch staff!
I will ALWAYS come back to this location just to have "The Adobe Inn Experience! =) =)

Room Tip: Give them specific details on what room you want Sergio will always give you the best that's ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagallonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
You just made our day by giving us such a nice review! Here at Adobe Inn we do believe that a 5 star service comes from 5 star employees, and we're glad to know that you received the service and amenities that made for an excellent stay. I will make sure to pass on your commendations to our staff members. In hopes to see you next time you're in the Monterrey Peninsula. Area, we send you our best wishes!

Sincerely,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Adobe Inn at Carmel whilst travelling from San Francisco to LA on the Pacific Coast Highway. Our reception at the hotel was warm and welcoming. We stayed on a B&B basis. Breakfast was served to our room. The room was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable with 2 x Queen beds. One of the features of the room was a gas log fire that was useful during the March evening as temperatures were somewhat cooler than daytime (65F). Free wi-fi worked perfectly and guests are afforded free secure underground parking.
Carmel was a quaint village type commumity with many hotels, guest houses, restaurants and shops. The beach was a good 5 minute walk from the hotel with tremendous views of the bay and onto Pebble Beach Golf Course. 17 mile drive is close by and worth the $10 entrance fee to see the upmarket properties / lifestyle of wealthy Americans.
Also close by (4 miles approx) is the city of Monterey - well worth a visit with a world acclaimed Aqua Marine centre. The old Cannery is also worth some exploration and you can expect to see beaches occupied mainly by seals.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

In former mayor, Clint Eastwood's, incredibly charming town of Carmel-by-the-Sea, this is NOT a first choice in where to stay. So many other delightful inns offer more hospitable alternatives and live up to their promises in this lovely, walkable town.

Sadly, service at the Adobe Inn was so lackadaisical it undid any of the allure this place had to offer. Although a gas fire hissed merrily away in the front office, there was, more often than not, no help to be had for inquiries. Further, Sergio, the General Manager, despite all his good intentions during our initial booking conversation -- tempting us with promises of a quiet, upper story room, and special "individual press coffee" in the morning -- not only seemed to forget our original discussion, but also slotted us into what turned out to be the bottom rung of room options, apparently because we did not book directly through the hotel. More about the unfortunate coffee later.

While our double room was clean enough and relatively large, it proved, once again, that size is definitely not everything. It was generally mundane and looked like every other two-bedded hotel room across the country in the thrall of a brown and beige palette, though the gas fireplace offered a flicker of warmth in an otherwise sterile surrounding. At first, we were excited by the light streaming in from a large concrete balcony, but there was not even a chair to be had from which to enjoy either the California sun, or the tiny peek of the ocean that was almost visible in the distance, far beyond the facing brick wall. Upon exploration, traversing many crumbling concrete steps, we did indeed discover the tiny pool that one of the staff later informed me was rarely used. Small wonder.

Underground parking is available -- and there is an elevator to reach the upper floors -- as long as you are able to wait interminably for it. Once the troops of tourists, rolling their endless trains of luggage, finished their rumbling march past our door, which was located on the first-floor, main drag just past the office, we did manage to get some sleep, only to be awakened by the loud door-knocking and strident calls of the hotel staff delivering trays of breakfasts to all the adjacent rooms of earlier risers.

Speaking of the infamous "Continental Breakfast tray delivered to one's room", apparently it was too much to ask that the staff actually follow the menu choices we had been carefully instructed to note down and leave on our doors by 9 pm, the night before. Besides not getting what we ordered, the small glasses of OJ distinctly resembled a disappointing store-bought reconstituted variety, and much of the fruit selection was literally rotten -- I kept a grape to see if it would continue on its merry way to becoming a raisin. Two tiny, stale, beige muffins were essentially tasteless, bearing a striking similarity to ones my children recently attempted to make from their toy baking kit. As there was neither a surface to place the food tray other than the bed, nor sufficient cutlery or napkins with which to eat our selections, our family opted to play "musical chairs", balancing token bowls of the store-bought granola on our laps, and taking turns, eating with the only two bent spoons provided. Finally, it was just as well that only one glass cup was offered, to partake of the tepid version of the vaunted "pressed coffee", since it was sufficiently watered down as to be indistinguishable from dishwater.

Make my day? Definitely NOT!

Room Tip: For "better" less noisy options, book upper floors only and directly with the hotel, not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheWhiteRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate your time in letting us know of your experience at Adobe Inn. We truly apologize for not being able to provide you with the room type you've requested due to unforeseen events that led to this situation. We were sorry to learn that we fell short of this guest’s expectations in our Continental Breakfast .Our hotel is not noisy and each room is efficiently insulated. We are extremely sensitive to making sure this property remains quiet for all of our guests. We cannot control the volume of other guests unless reported with an issue of noise or disturbance, which we promptly address with front desk staff when informed. Our hotel prides itself on the quality of sleep our guests receive simply because of its low noise levels. It is our everyday goal to ensure that each of our guests has a fantastic experience. I tried to compensate for the inconvenience caused providing credit towards theirs stay. I do understand that we didn’t meet your needs and we hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to provide you with the service and accommodations that will exceed your expectation.

Best regards,

Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay was great. From the moment we went to make reservations with the very accommodating staff to the free breakfast delivered to our room. The location was walking distance to the beach and we had ocean views from our room. Also situated right in the heart of town we had everything at our fingertips.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The staff was excellent, always there if you need something. And the Manager Sergio was great! Making sure the pool was warm at all times. Had are breakfast at the rooms when expected. He new all the good places to eat in town. The staff never bothered us, but made sure we were well taken care of.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a great value! But the Mini Suite was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rick P, Thank you for your nice review. We're glad to know you found our hotel services and amenities as an excellent choice for your visit in Carmel. We hope that next time you're visiting Carmel you will stay at Adobe Inn once again.

Sincerely,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: Dolores and 8th, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing