We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adobe Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pros: Lovely big rooms, fantastic location, nice views, very quiet and good parking access.

Cons: Felt like the bathroom wasn't quite clean enough, slightly inattentive staff, and the breakfast took a big pass from us! The oatmeal comes with a packet of instant oats and a pot of half boiled water = absolutely revolting gruel! There are no microwaves in the room (which wouldn't be hard to arrange) so we couldn't even warm it up.

Overall: a good place to stay if you are looking for something affordable and in a good location...but spend the money and go out for breakfast!

Room Tip: They can be generous with room upgrades so helps to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAlexPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAdobeInn, General Manager at Adobe Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for visiting the Adobe Inn and submitting a review of our property. We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I also want to thank this reviewer for their kind words regarding our rooms and location. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of attention you received and I need to apologize for the Bathroom was not clean went you arrive to your room. That is absolutely unacceptable and I will speak with my housekeepers right away. Thank you again for choosing the Adobe Inn and taking the time to share your experience with others here at TripAdvisor.

Best regards,
Sergio Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    122
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
106
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This Inn was a very nice place to land en route to San Francisco. Carmel is a gorgeous little town, and the Adobe is easy walking distance (2-3 blocks) to almost anything. When we arrived, the manager was away from her desk, but there were comfy chairs and a blazing fire to welcome us. You park beneath the building for free, which turned out to be a huge asset, as there are no valets at restaurants, and little street parking to be found. Our room was almost the size of a small suite, with a lovely King-sized bed, good linens, and a couple of comfy dark brown leather chairs in front of a gas fireplace. Also a large armoire containing a large screen tv. It was VERY comfortable. And noise was no factor at all.
Our issues were that the tub was quite small, the internet did not work in our room, and the complimentary breakfast was underwhelming. It was brought to our door which was nice, but lacked utensils so we had to call up for those. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herbalgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall, we were pleased with the Adobe Inn. the room was huge and had a fireplace. The location was off the main street in a quiet neighborhood but easy walk to everything. Our only issue was the lack of any screens on the windows or sliding doors. The room was quite warm and we like to leave windows open to hear the ocean. Since we were on a second floor with no access from the outside to our room from the street, we felt ok leaving the sliding doors open....but would have felt better with screens to keep out any flying insects!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Adobe Inn is a dog friendly hotel. We have our dog with us. It worked out very nicely. The room is bigger than most places in the area. Our room has a fire place and a big balcony. It has a garage underground which is very convenient. Parking can be difficult along Ocean Ave. It is close to the beach and shops along Ocean Ave.
There is a dog care place (Signature Paw Spa) nearby where you can leave your dog for a few hours.
Breakfast is adequate and simple.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeewai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staying at the Adobe Inn was a very enjoyable experience for my daughter and myself. It is a very cute place, with a southwestern feel outside and lush garden areas. The rooms are nicely appointed and the fireplaces are great. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding is quite nice. The pre ordered continental breakfast that is very nice is brought to your room at a time you schedule. Starbucks coffee is in your room. The location couldn't be better, parking garage located on the premises is included. The general manager and staff are great, very accommodating and friendly. I guess the only negative I would have is they haven't updated their televisions to the new flat screens. Other than that it was perfect and I will go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a room with an ocean view and really enjoyed the balcony that was perfect for enjoying wine outdoors nightly. The fireplace was the perfect thing to take the chill off of the nights and added a lovely ambiance to our stay. The staff was incredibly helpful and responsive to all our needs. We borrowed wine glasses, a cork screw and other utensils for our own wine and cheese evenings. We loved that the room had nice robes, towels and a mini-fridge to store wine or snacks. The beds are new with fresh, clean bedding. Both the bed pillows and mattress were top quality - this is really important to feeling like a the furnishings are selected for comfort and luxury. The room was always promptly made up by housekeeping right after we left in the morning - and we found that the location centrally located to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Delores street has many great restaurants and wine tasting rooms within a block; we loved go to wine tastings so close! This inn provides a convenient parking area under the inn and this is free. Sergio and his staff were attentive and gracious to ask us how our stay was going on a daily basis. For a small property, we felt well cared for and pampered and at a very reasonable rate, compared to other inns that are far more costly. We would definitely return to Adobe Inn for our next stay to Carmel-by-the-Sea!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a distant ocean view and are a bit quieter than the village side rooms. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adverturegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was probably my 5th trip to Carmel and first time staying at the Adobe Inn. We were greated at check-in by a very pleasant young lady and were given room 36. Room was nice/clean and had a great balcony which we used everyday. The fireplace was also a great touch. We only had the continental breakfast 1 out of 3 days and it was very good. It is great that they actually deliver it to your room. In past trips to Carmel, parking is really a headache. None of the other hotels I have stayed at had provisions for parking and you are pretty much on your own to find a spot. The underground garage at the Adobe is very convenient and everything is within walking distance!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsFindSomeSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Inn

Property: Adobe Inn
Address: Dolores and 8th, P.O. Box 4115, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Western Adobe style, rooms with balcony or patio; located just a short walk to the village shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Adobe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing