We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
275
142
24
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
275
142
24
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic basket breakfast basket each morning hot tub pastries orange juice within walking distance comfortable bed king room few blocks would stay here again hard boiled eggs coffee maker wine glasses stayed nights gas fireplace the room was nice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 458 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a spacious room with balcony overlooking rooftops with a view of the ocean (114). Also a gas fireplace. King bed comfortable. Breakfast (no choices) delivered to room in a basket - only so-so. Keurig in room to make your own coffee. Despite breakfast, we enjoyed our stay and loved the seagulls that came visiting on the balcony wall.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We had a very nice room...king bed, fireplace and view of the ocean from our deck. There was a great small kitchen setup with coffee counter and refrigerator. Bathroom was clean. Loved having a makeup mirror. It is at the top of the hill from downtown Carmel and the beach but that enabled us to have a nice view of the ocean. The breakfast basket was fun to open and was more than adequate to start the day. Would highly recommend Horizon Inn.

Room tip: I would pay for the premium view room.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sierra876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

Arrival:

The Lodge was easy to find, google maps took us straight there. Parking on site is available and on the roads around the Last lodge.

Friendly and fast check in.

Location:

Short walk to the main attractions and downtown. It's a great location.

Rooms:

The balcony sea view room we occupied was large. Good shower and toiletries provided, soft towels.

The room had a fridge and microwave oven, and a tea/coffee maker.

Bed was large and comfortable, pillows were also comfortable.

There is a hot tub outside for residents use, with an outdoor seating area.

A large screen TV was also provided.

We were generally satisfied with our stay. The only aspect we didn't enjoy was the wifi, which although free, was unpredictable and dropped in and out. Making planning aspects of our road trip via the web, difficult.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 483philipd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Breakfast comes to your door in a picnic basket! Our room wasn't too pricey either, with one queen bed. A walk downhill to Ocean Ave was the sandy area of the ocean and people playing volleyball on the beach. Lovely shops, quaint. We drove south on Route 1 to Pt Lobos and did the 6 mile loop hike where we saw Sea Lions and their PUPs as well as a view of Big Sur-like shoreline. Awesome.

Room tip: We arrived late, got the last room so we could not be fussy. Room 207 is across the street, and up some stairs.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leslierx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

The hubs and I stayed here for the first time just recently. We have a great sized room with mountain views. Ocean view rooms could be booked but the cost of the mountain view room was more in line with the experience we wanted to have, and we knew we'd be walking to the beach every day so didn't need an ocean view (plus we live at the ocean and therefore were happy with the mountain view, which you can see from the pic was beautiful).
We had a king size bed with a fireplace, and a small patio. The room was a really nice size and felt like a studio apartment. There was a coffee station area that included a refrigerator microwave. There were plates and glasses available in the cabinets in the coffee station.
There was a full size couch, as well as a table with chairs for dining. On the patio, there was a small table to set down a book/beverage, with 2 patio chairs.
The bathroom was adequate for our needs. Not spa like but we weren't expecting that so it was all good.
We both really liked the accommodations and would stay here again, and also would recommend to others. If you're expecting high end finishes, this would not be the place for you. But if you value space and comfort over glitz, you'll be good with this property. After all, it's the outside beauty that is the draw for the area.

Room tip: I would recommend rooms upstairs because that was the experience that we had and we were happy with that.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews