We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View in Carmel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #9 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best View in Carmel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We just spent two nights at the Horizon Inn and it was everything we wanted. We were met with a very warm welcome by Brenda and John, who, I found out at the end of our stay, was the owner. They were most accommodating at helping us settle in and sending us to all of their favorite spots in Carmel. Being from a mountain town, we wanted to be able to see the ocean and we had room #114 -- definitely ask for this one -- worth the extra money. We had a large private balcony with a great view of the ocean and the mountains over the roof tops of Carmel. Think Sunsets!! I could have stayed forever!! Our room wasn't huge, but had a great fireplace, flat screen t.v., fridge, excellent shower, lots of drawers, chairs and table, along with other amenities too numerous to mention here. They even fulfilled my request and brought in a comfy reading chair!!!!! My only comment would be that the drapes and bedding need to be updated, but we were most comfortable there. I spent a lot of time trying to find the perfect hotel for our short stay (websites can be misleading) -- at a good value -- some places are very over priced in this adorable village -- but this spot was great. I highly recommend it just because everyone was so helpful and accommodating. By the way the towels were more luxurious than the Westin in SF!!

Room Tip: Room 114 -- best ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tennisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
If memory serves me correctly you are also an innkeeper and your warm review of our inn we hold in the highest regard. When anyone has the opportunity to take a vacation we respect how important it is to make the right choice and to have your expectations met. We are pleased that we were able to do just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    105
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
62
190
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during November 2011.

The room was very comfortable. The advertised 'partial ocean views' were brilliant. Breakfast in a basket was left outside the door first thing in the morning. My only gripe would be that the hotel was a bit out of the centre of Carmel, and they don't have street lights at night, so the walk back was interesting! Overall, great value for money and very welcoming.

Carmel was great fun, with good food and very friendly, but a shame about some of the stores though; we found it a bit like Beverly-Hills-by-the-sea. You always know you're headed for trouble when not a single store has a price in the window!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeebeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We just got back from three nights at this Inn. It's located on the corner of 3rd and Junipero - walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. No need to hassle looking for a parking spot as the hotel provides free parking - oh, and free wireless!! We had the basic king room. It was very roomy with ample counter space in the bath, good hot shower and a very comfortable bed. Room was very clean and welcoming. We were with another couple who brought their dogs. They stayed at the sister property, the Ocean View Lodge. Their room, actually a cottage, was adorable. Rooms in Carmel can be very pricely, this hotel was quite moderate. Oh I forget to mention the breakfast basket that arrived each morning at your door. No need to rush to get dressed to get your breakfast, it's right there at your door!! Wonderful. We definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: With a small upgrade you can have a fireplace. Some rooms have amazing views of Carmel bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such a nice review of our inns. I truly feel like you touched on many important aspects of our property that make us stand out. We work very hard to provide a superior quality product for a very affordable price. Even our standard rooms, as you very eloquently pointed out, provide spacious, comfortable, clean accommodations that are appealing and not too pricey. We truly are versatile by design and offer a variety of accommodations including rooms for travelers with pets. The pet friendly cottages are wonderful and offer rare amenities like wood burning fireplaces. I'm glad you got to experience both properties during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Ocean View suite. It was AWESOME! Everything was perfect, the view was breathtaking and we could hear the waves from the ocean all night; the room was spacious, very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable with wonderful linens and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We can't thank you enough for the wonderful visit. We will definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view with jacuzzie tub, beautiful room and very spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHONDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I always return to the Horizon Inn when visiting Carmel! The rooms are comfortable, clean, modern, with a small fridge/eating area. Breakfast arrives in a basket in the am and the property is clean and well-manicured. The hot tub is nice to relax in, but no pool. Location is excellent, within a couple blocks of Ocean, the main shopping street. Parking is ample on the hotel property and the dozen or so rooms keeps things quiet. A wonderful relaxing spot right in the heart of Carmel!

Room Tip: Handicap room is the largest, but upstairs rooms have an ocean view & are at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fancyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed 2 nights in the Ocean View K-9 friendly suites. It was grrrrreat! Extremely comfortable, lots of room and very clean. I had to leave my dog at home at the last minute and the front staff waived the pet fee. This was neither asked for nor expected. I liked that it was off the main drag, but not by much. As someone that travels frequently with my dog I am always looking for someplace that welcomes the pooch as much as the person.. This is the Place. I also liked that the Pet Rooms were so clean and comfortable. I have stayed in too many places that give you the worst rooms if you have a dog.... NOT THE CASE HERE!! Two thumbs and Four Paws up for Ocean View Lodge. If you travel with your dog and you are looking to stay in a very home-like environment STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: 2 of the pet rooms have a full (small) kitchen. No jacuzzi in these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you so much for specifically mentioning the cleanliness and comfort of the Lodge. It is extremely important to us that our pet rooms don't feel or look like "pet rooms". Pet owners that travel with their canine companions can and should expect to enjoy the same levels of comfort and cleanliness as those that are traveling without. Overall, we have had wonderful experiences with our 4-legged guests and although it does require extra cleaning on the part of our staff we enjoy our pet-friendly status and it continues to thrive. Hopefully, you can bring "Fido" on your next trip to Carmel. His biscuits are waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We spent two nights at the Horizon Inn during our Carmel visit and the location was awesome! Not the fanciest hotels but perfect for the value. Also - AAA discount. Just a few blocks from Ocean Avenue which is the main street in Carmel. Walking distance to everything including the beach and a short 5 min. drive to Point Lobos State Park - which is a must for a morning hike. We had a standard room with two queen beds and a fireplace. Plenty of room and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Every morning a breakfast basket is left at your door with fruit, bagels, cereal, juice and there is a coffee machine in your room. Breakfast could have been better, but there are so many great places close by to try. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They answered all of our questions about the town and provided whatever we asked for. One night my husband and I walked down to the beach with a blanket and bottle of wine to watch the sunset before dinner. So cool! You really have to do this when in Carmel. One of the most beautiful sunsets and we have traveled many places. Thank you Horizon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jmnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.0 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Property: Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. We are a family owned and operated business. Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing