We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortale, clean, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #9 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The initial contact with the office staff was vert curtious and helpful. The webside provided addtitional information about the area, which was also helpful. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. The balcony and view made the stay more pleasant. We will be back!

Room Tip: ask about room options when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 343 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Me and my husband took a 3 night trip to Carmel and wanted a room with a fireplace and Jacuzzi. We got that and more with the Horizon Inn. From the friendly welcome at check-inn to the noon checkout (nice that it isn't earlier) we enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Plenty of parking and an easy walk to our beautiful room. We walked in to a spotless room w/ a bed with tons of comfortable looking pillows, and great view, separate bathroom from the jacuzzi, spacious closet and LARGE patio. The fireplace was able to be seen from all parts of the room, even the private alcove jacuzzi! The bath salts were an added bonus. We had a peaceful nights sleep on some of the best bedding and most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel (and I have stayed at many!) and then woke to a cute breakfast basket with pastries, cereal, juices and a morning paper. Overall, it was a memorable, comfortable and romantic few days and we look forward to making the trip to Carmel every once and while from San Francisco for our stay in room 115!

Room Tip: AAA rate got us a great discount, the upgrade to a jacuzzi room is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emilymoore80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I like to stay at places with ocean view. This was one of few places with an ocean view in Carmel, so we stayed here. One disappointing thing was that you can hardly see the ocean, if fog creeps in. Of course, this happens so often in Carmel. The only time we could see ocean was in the morning. Next time, I will stay closer to the ocean, so I can see the water in the evening time.

The inn was well taken care of. We loved the hot spa because it was kind of cold, when we were there. The breakfast was not super fancy but it is nice they bring it right to your door.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redhibiscus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My friend and I decided to take a "Mommy's Retreat" and go to Carmel for two nights and three days. We stayed at the Horizon Inn and were SO pleased with our choice! This hotel is VERY clean and quiet. The room seemed to have been recently remodeled. The rooms are even nicer in person than the pictures you see on the computer. We originally had booked a first floor room with no balcony or view. When we arrived we asked to see a room upstairs with a view. We decided to upgrade to an ocean view room with a balcony and we are so glad we did. It was definitely worth the extra money. While we were there we stopped by the Lamplighter Inn and Candlelight Inn to compare, and we both agreed that the Horizon Inn was a much nicer place to stay. We loved the continental breakfast basket and newspaper that were delivered to our room each morning! I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Use AAA for discount. Get an upstairs room with ocean view. Definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eljo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 29, 2011

Mommy's Retreat, Girl's Getaway, Back to School Reward...whatever you call it they make the best trips, don't they! The upstairs rooms with the ocean view, FP and sitting area make the perfect spot to kick back and catch up and the fact that they can accommodate up to 4 people makes it great to share with more than one friend. I am such a believer in this type of getaway for sanity and rejuvenation of the spirit...I fully intend to offer gals (and guys) the opportunity to take one of these types of trips in September so maybe you'll be ready to do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights, I wish it wouldn't end. Very clean and comfortable. Everyone there was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast served in a basket right outside our door, with plenty of coffee and cream in the refrigerator in our room. Also, a microwave and toaster was provided.
The grounds were lovely with plenty of flowers to add to the beauty. Parking was right outside our door.
Definitely would return to this lovely quaint hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 114, Very private, patio with view, fireplace. Couldn't ask for a nicer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kghouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 29, 2011

114 is one of our most popular rooms and for good reason. Please note that we do not offer that room online. We only offer about half our rooms online in order to accommodate repeat guests. So, we encourage people to call us directly if they don't see a desired room type available online. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. See you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I often come to Carmel and last time we booked a room at the Horizon Inn. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view and was amazed! Most places would call that a full ocean view. Since the Inn is up the hill a bit, one of the advantages is that you can see the ocean off the private and beautiful balconies in the rooms. The bed and bedding was soft and so comfy. We took a dip in the lovely tiled spa and found the service to be delightful.
We booked using the sites last minute deals and boy did we get a great one! Horizon is perfect for the money and we throughly enjoyed staying here- we will stay again soon I am sure.
The hotel is about a 5 or so minute walk from the center of downtown but not bad at all. My husband and I enjoyed walking off our dinner and did not find it to be strenuous at all.
Again- perfect for what we were looking for and will stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My husband I just returned from a week in Carmel where we stayed at the Horizon Inn, room 115. I was nervous about the ocean view based on some other reviews complaining about the rooftops but it was wonderful. Yes, there were rooftops between us and the ocean but the hotel is uphill enough to provide a great view overall. I think people fail to realize that there aren't hotels right on the beach in Carmel, only private residences. The room was small but like everything else in Carmel, they make the most out of a small space. The jacuzzi tub was right next to the fireplace, which was great and there was plenty of room for all our belongings with a deep dresser and closet space.

We interacted with both the day and evening office staff and everyone was extremely friendly and very helpful. I read some complaints about the breakfast baskets but we thought it was perfect. The picnic basket arrived like clockwork every morning by 7:30 with pastries, cereal, milk, orange juice and fresh fruit. Since we were there several days, they provided something a little different each day. It was just right for starting the day and kept us from needing to dine until early dinner. The hotel also kept us supplied with coffee, tea, cream and sugar so we never ran out. We picked up a few extra goodies to keep in the fridge and the kitchenette was just right for our needs.

I do agree with others that if you have trouble walking uphill, you might want to stay at a lower location. It's about 4 steep blocks to Ocean Ave for shopping and dining. We were fine with it and actually needed to walk off all the great food every night but I can see where some might have an issue with it. Hotels located lower down the hill won't have an ocean view though so it's a definite trade off. Also, this hotel was so quiet that sometimes it actually felt like we were the only ones there, even though we could clearly see they were booked. Very nice. And laundry right down stairs, another plus. Our room was listed as being ground floor so I assumed we would have another room above us but that's not the case. No one above or below. Perfect. Wifi worked great in the room and free parking right inside the courtyard was perfect. Jacuzzi and outside fire seating area were available too but we ended up running out of time.

Oh and we also had a beautiful big flat screen tv in our room, even though we rarely turned it on. Several great bistros were open late so we rarely made it back to our room early enough to watch tv. One place we stumbled upon that probably ranks as the best night of our trip was Bistro Beaujolais. It's tucked away so you might ask the front desk how to get there but it was amazing. Great food, gourmet dessert and fantastic wine but the best part was the courtyard with a large fire pit and live music. Along with several other couples we spent the entire evening drinking coffee and wine, listening to Mark Banks play while enjoying the fire and good company. We were so lucky to find that place.
A.W. Shucks is another recommend. Best clam chowder and fish & chips. Alex the bartender there was full of great information about places to see in the area.

Hope this helps. I would definitely stay at the Horizon Inn again and after just returning home, we both miss Carmel already!

Room Tip: Room 115 or the one adjoining it (116?)...perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tauriann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2011

Thank you for all the lovely suggestions and tips for staying in Carmel. We certainly appreciate the fact that you let others know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Horizon Inn. Next time you are in town you must try our newest Italian restaurant, Vesuvio, just 3 blocks from our inn. It has a very unique roof top lounge complete with heat lamps and fire pits. It is our goal to make every visit to our Carmel property one you hate to see end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 25 in Carmel
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $153 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. We are a family owned and operated business. Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing