We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
224
128
23
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
128
23
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic basketbreakfast basketeach morninghot tubpastrieswithin walking distancecomfortable bedorange juiceyour doorstepstaff was helpful and friendlyfridge and microwavesmall balconyshops and restaurantsfew blocksgreat place to stayquiet locationking room
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 389 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

On our return trip to Carmel after 20 years we were delighted by our accommodation. We stayed for 5 nights in the Lodge in a spacious, comfortable and stylish appartment and then had 2 nights in a beautiful room in the Inn section with a lovely ocean view. The staff were friendly and helpful and we can wholeheartedly recommend both the Inn and the Lodge

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review32172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Rented a suite with king size bed in seperate room, wood burning fireplace that has was set frest every day - we just needed to light a match! Wonderful location - could walk everywhere in Carmel. Very comfortable bed and bedding. A fabulous breakfast basket and newspaper left at the front door every morning! Each day we were excited to see our morning breakfast. Ver accomidating - we had a couple of 20 year old children that popped in and they were able to stay in room on queen size sleeper sofa that was comfortable and were able to bring there dog! General Manager - John - very gracious.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hialowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My wife and I live in the SF Bay Area and have visited Carmel 2-3 times each year since 1991. Outside of about 5 separate occasions during the past 20 years, approximately 60 visits total, we have always stayed at the Horizon Inn. If you do the math, that's about 50 stays of at least two nights at the Horizon Inn for us. It is truly a home away from home for us.

I have read the negative reviews and the positive ones. Let me give you my obviously biased opinion.

For those that are all freaked out about some reviews about the staff and location, please disregard these reviews. We have always felt very welcome when we arrive at the Horizon Inn. For instance, this past March we were planning on a 4-day weekend along the California coast, 2-nights in Big Sur, 2-nights in Carmel. Unfortunately, Highway 1 was closed north of Big Sur due to a landslide. We did not discover this until we were almost there, it happened after we had left home/work. The Big Sur hotel was nice enough to allow us to cancel our hotel reservation, and Horizon Inn was nice enough to give us an ocean view room AT A DISCOUNT since it was available, on the spot. THAT is customer service.

Also, the hotel is only FOUR BLOCKS from downtown Carmel, about 5-10 minutes walking, depending on where you are going, about 30 minutes if you are going to the beach. So, big deal if you have to walk uphill back to your hotel. Most of us can use the exercise after a filling meal anyway. The fact is you can walk to any number of fine restaurants in the center of town easily, as well as all of the fun shopping during the day.

Being near the top of the hill also allows you a lot of piece and quiet. My wife and I get our best sleep when we go to Carmel and stay here for a long weekend.

Plus, you can't beat the rates and the fact that you get a nice basket breakfast every morning. We usually pass on this for a nice sit down meal, but it is still decent food, and quite a bit of it.

For anyone going to Carmel for the first time, or a return visit, I cannot recommend a better place to stay for the price and location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_travelers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I took a three day trip from the SF Bay Area to Carmel for golf and dining. The hotel room was just what we were looking for. Great room, good ocean view, balcony, fire place, peace and quiet. Most importantly, a short walk to great restaurants. All in all a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The service and hospitality were fine. The room however was musty smelling. My clothes smelled musty. The rooms need air purifiers!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0eie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 30, 2011

Thank you for reminding us how important it is to open up windows in rooms that have gone unoccupied for several days. This is especially true when they have been closed to keep out the unusally rainy weather that has plagued the Peninsula for the past several weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews