We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a most elegant peaceful Inn”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We recently spent 4 days at Tradewinds Inn in Carmel. What a find!! The rooms are luxurious, bright, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet, and totally unpretentious. The owners have collected furnishings from all over Asia, and the total feeling is one of serenity and peace. The breakfast is excellent with lots of fresh fruit,cereals, toast sweet rolls etc. The staff are ever helpful and knowledgeable with answers to all your questions...and the location is perfect. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 583 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great rooms and very clean. The service was outstanding and exceeded all our expectations. The location was in the heart of Carmel with resonable walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and beach. We will definetly be back to visit in the next few years.
Thanks for a great expereince.
D & D

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

It's always refreshing to experience the service and attention that a properly managed, independent owner/operated hotel provides. Susan and her staff could not have been more friendly or attentive. Our 2nd floor room was quiet and very well appointed with incredibly comfortable linens/beds. An absolutely beautiful property with particularly indulgent landscaping that exudes taste and tranquility. We will return to Carmel, and we will definitely return to Tradewinds!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBMC205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

There were 2 huge problems with our stay at the Tradewinds Hotel. The first is that the soundproofing in the rooms in horrible. Each morning at 6am or 7am, we could hear the person walking around in the room above us (there was constant creaking of the floorboards and pounding everytime the person took a step) even though he was not wearing shoes. Neither my significant other nor I could sleep once the person upstairs woke up. Therefore we did not have a good night of sleep during our weekend at Tradewinds as we were up everyday at 6am along with the person staying in the room above us.

Tradewinds is one of the most expensive Inns in Carmel at $325/night for a standard room. For $325/night, I would expect to get a decent night of sleep.

The second problem is that the hotel is 5 blocks from downtown carmel. I would definitely rather spend $200-$250/night to stay at one of the Inns in downtown carmel on or nearer to Ocean Avenue.

When I told the woman at the front desk about the noise issue, at first she was quite snotty in her response. Upon checkout she was much more apologetic but their attitude certainly did not help the problem and we would definitely not recommend staying at Tradewinds.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFtravelers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Excellent "boutique" hotel. Rooms "zen like" with high quality furnishings, beds, & baths at a medium-high price. Very good location with walk to everything. Staff friendly and helpful. A better than average continental breakfast is offered mornings.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredAirlinePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

After a long drive and a long day, we were eager to check in to tradewinds inn in carmel, ca for a long weekend get away. However, once we arrived, we found that someone had overbooked us. Without a room in town, the proprietor of the hotel offered for us to stay at one of her condo which she rents. She said she would give us a discount for staying there. But without a place to stay, and being 7:00pm, we decided to fork out the extra cash to have a bed and a shower. But once we arrived, we found that it was her one small bedroom back house, next to her garage. So, due to the location, which was away from town, and price, we decided to leave early. The people from the inn were extremely nice, however, this mix up was really unacceptable for our long memorial day weekend. No one from Orbitz or the inn tried to contact us to tell us that the reservation was cancelled. I even got a reservation confirmation and "how was my stay" email from orbitz, but no email or a phone call about my reservation being cancelled. When we were at the hotel, they informed us that Orbitz did not have our phone number but they did. They tried to pull all excuses with no good explanation.
So just be warned. I'm sure the hotel itself is nice, but this whole experience with Orbitz and this inn was a bust.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortablesleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

It's hard to imagine a nicer, more welcoming place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
678 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $277 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing