We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradewinds Carmel”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

What a lovely hotel. We hadn't realised it is in the Johansens guide until we arrived. Beautiful rooms and very tranquil.
We stopped at Carmel for 2 nights.
They recommended a restaurant called Grasing's which was superb.
Lots of smart shops and an attractive beach.
Carmel was a bit colder than we were expecting and the Pacific Coast Highway down from San Francisco was disappointing. It was worth the 30 minute drive further south to Big Sur, during which we saw what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisNewton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind review..."beautiful rooms and very tranquil" is our goal. And, yes, we have been chosen as a Conde Nast Johansen's property, which only includes special places in their guides. Warm Regards to you and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had booked for only one night at this hotel but loved Carmel so much we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Main Street. We booked a very comfortable deluxe room. Breakfast was included and was a cold buffet and very adequate. Very quiet location and charming staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MsMarple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2014

Thank you to our guests from the United Kingdom! We are so happy that you enjoyed Carmel and Tradewinds Carmel that you stayed an extra night! There is so much to do here from the Monterey Bay Aquarium to Big Sur to Point Lobos to all of the wineries to Carmel Mission to Pebble Beach...I could go on and on. You really need at least 5 days here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at Tradewinds, and could not have been happier. It's a wonderful bed and breakfast, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Location is also terrific, just a couple blocks from downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2014

What nice guests you are! We wish that you could return soon. We have wonderful jobs, especially with guests like you. Warm Regards, the staff at Tradewinds Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the photos this place looks quite upmarket. You would also expect this from the prices they charge. Even allowing for the location and town, this place is way over priced. The furniture is chipped and tapestries are tired. "A converted motel" has been quoted and that's what is is. Noise does transfer from other rooms so the owners upgrade didn't extend to sound proofing. Look elsewhere and do you research for the real story on Tripadvisor

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Efficient and helpful staff. Spacious and clean rooms. Charming in-room electrical fireplace. Very comfortable bed. Walking distance from the main street, but a longer walk to the beach (better go by car/bicycle). Complimentary wi-fi and parking lot. We expected a little more form the breakfast, but it was not bellow average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ErnestoMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. We like your description "lovely place to stay"! Our breakfast buffet is served in our breakfast room but we can also serve you breakfast in bed, if you prefer! Our buffet has French pastries from a local French bakery, bagels and cream cheese/condiments, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, breads, juices, cereals/granola, fresh cut-up fruit, and coffee/tea service. We are also close to wonderful breakfast restaurants, if you prefer a full pancakes/meat meal! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Tradewinds is a beautiful, cozy boutique hotel a few blocks from the main street that runs through town. My friend and I stayed in the Poet's Suite, which featured balconies, a jet/jacuzzi tub, one and a half bathrooms, a sitting area with a couch that converts to a bed, and a master bedroom with a giant, sumptuous bed covered with a down comforter. There are two large TVs, a small kitchen area with coffee and teas, dishware and a coffee maker (no microwave). They also provide pretty kimonos. They provided us with an orchid, snacks and chocolate covered strawberries

As lovely as the suite and grounds are, what struck us was the incredible customer service. Every person we encountered catered to our every need. In the morning, rather than having to go to the breakfast buffet, they delivered the food to us. There were homemade pastries, toasted bagels and cream cheese, fruit salad, and a big pitcher of coffee with sugar and cream. Staff gave us excellent suggestions for dinner (Vesuvio's, an Italian restaurant, was great) and pointed out shops we might want to check out the next day.

Tradewinds is luxurious but intimate hotel--and they allow dogs too! I left my pug at home, but we'll all be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxvox-redux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Wow! What an incredible review! You described the Poets Suite so well that we wish that you worked here! Thank you so so much! We love our suites since they are so private and look out over the courtyard with the fire pit, stream and Meditation Garden, and parking is so convenient but you don't see it from the suites. We hope that you can return sometime soon! Warm Regards, the staff at Tradewinds Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights because we had heard great things about Carmel and wanted to stay in the village part. The hotel is perfectly fine - nice room, good (included in the cost) cold breakfast. However the location isn't really central, so it was about a ten minute walk to get anywhere worth going and an even longer walk to get down to the beach. They do offer free wireless and put out chocolate covered strawberries when you arrive, which is a nice touch.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lauren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Hello and Thank you for your review-happy that you enjoyed the room, breakfast, Free WiFI, and chocolate covered strawberries! We are 3 blocks from the main street of Carmel on a nice quiet residential street. I am sorry that you would have preferred to be closer to the main street but then you risk having noise from the traffic and busy pedestrian streets. Our sister property, Carmel Lodge, is only 2 blocks from Ocean Avenue and has free parking and wifi, as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $277 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace your true Zen with a stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Featured as one of Architectural Digest’s most glamorous hotels, one of Forbes Travel Guide’s best small hotels, and voted as one of the world’s top inns by Coastal Living, our Carmel luxury hotel combines the elegant with the relaxing, offering tranquil surroundings and views of the Pacific Ocean. Indulge yourself in fine Egyptian cotton linens and luxurious goose down feather beds, pillows, and comforters. Experience spectacular ocean views, the luxury of spa tubs, fireplaces, Japanese tansu wetbars and vanities, antique and custom designed furniture from Bali and China, silk pillows, custom lighting, fine bath amenities, CD players, wireless high-speed internet access, fresh orchids and bamboo fountains. Pet friendly and dog friendly rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing