We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a night in September and my only complaint is that we couldn't have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and extremely we'll appointed. We had a gorgeous ocean view and slept to the sounds of the surf. Hotel staff were amazing. When they found out we would not be able to stay for breakfast due to an early flight, they left fruit and yogurt for us in the room that night while we were out. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the downtown core but after a delicious meal at Casanova we really needed to walk off some calories!

In the evenings they light a fire in the courtyard which makes a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of California wine.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a lovely, peaceful get-away.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the ocean view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! Thank you! We are so glad that you could appreciate all of the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    110
    44
    13
    15
See reviews for
76
236
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay during our recent visit to Carmel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the beds are extremely comfortable.
I had requested a room with a sea view which unfortunately we did not get, however we spend most our time walking around the charming town of Carmel that it did not really matter.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was great as was the wifi. A rare treat that we came across during our road trip.
We would absolutely chose to stay at the Tradewinds again and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a lovely quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noppaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and hope that we can see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
251 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. We had a king room with partial ocean view. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful. A nice continental breakfast is served in the mornings. The inn is located within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. It would be nice to have a few more bathroom amenities like cotton balls, buds, shower cap though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so happy that you had a lovely 4 night stay! We are actually adding some bathroom amenities based upon your request. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very helpful staff and spacious rooms. Other reviewers talk about the stairs which I didn't mind but would caution people who stay there if they want to avoid using their car in Carmel it is a long walk back up the hill to the hotel (especially after dinner!)

There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby but none on site

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues be sure and mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaS02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! I am blessed with a wonderful staff who all really care about our guests. We have lovely guests which makes our jobs fun and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were traveling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and were staying here one night as a half way point. I would say it had a Zen atmosphere. The have a Buddha Statue in the courtyard. I would say it is relaxing and tranquil. I would not consider a luxury hotel. It is a small hotel. The room was very nice. It had a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable. It had a modern spa-like bathroom. The town of Carmel is very quaint. The beach in Carmel is Beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluejasmine1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! "Relaxing and Tranquil" are our goals for our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, tn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, lots of little extras, great staff, happy location...just up the road from our favorite Carmel restaurant, Grasing's. Returning from dinner, we grabbed sweaters and sat out by the fire pit. Another couple was there. We shared a bottle of wine and travel stories. It's very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review entices me to want to sit around the fire-pit with a bottle of wine and meet other guests! Our guests are all very interesting, sophisticated and gentile people. It makes our job so fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights at Tradewinds and the experience was disappointing. We were paying 500$ a night and were expecting a luxurious experience.
We had a balcony king ocean view room and the view from the balcony was obstructed by roofs from other buildings. Our first nights sleep was interrupted by noise from other people moving in. It had the feel of a poor motel as doors slammed and peoples conversations were heard in our room.
The bed was not comfortable and the carpets needed shampooing. The room was stuffy so the window needed to be left open as we slept but then the noise was a problem.
Coffee was not served until 8am so they put an old mr coffee maker in the room which seemed like a Holiday Inn in the 1980's. Breakfast was really poor and if you were leaving early you were out of luck as it was served late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SR004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing