We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very helpful staff and spacious rooms. Other reviewers talk about the stairs which I didn't mind but would caution people who stay there if they want to avoid using their car in Carmel it is a long walk back up the hill to the hotel (especially after dinner!)

There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby but none on site

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues be sure and mention it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaS02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! I am blessed with a wonderful staff who all really care about our guests. We have lovely guests which makes our jobs fun and rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    111
    45
    13
    15
See reviews for
78
238
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were traveling from San Francisco to Los Angeles and were staying here one night as a half way point. I would say it had a Zen atmosphere. The have a Buddha Statue in the courtyard. I would say it is relaxing and tranquil. I would not consider a luxury hotel. It is a small hotel. The room was very nice. It had a king size bed. The bed was very comfortable. It had a modern spa-like bathroom. The town of Carmel is very quaint. The beach in Carmel is Beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluejasmine1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! "Relaxing and Tranquil" are our goals for our wonderful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, tn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful room, lots of little extras, great staff, happy location...just up the road from our favorite Carmel restaurant, Grasing's. Returning from dinner, we grabbed sweaters and sat out by the fire pit. Another couple was there. We shared a bottle of wine and travel stories. It's very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your review entices me to want to sit around the fire-pit with a bottle of wine and meet other guests! Our guests are all very interesting, sophisticated and gentile people. It makes our job so fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights at Tradewinds and the experience was disappointing. We were paying 500$ a night and were expecting a luxurious experience.
We had a balcony king ocean view room and the view from the balcony was obstructed by roofs from other buildings. Our first nights sleep was interrupted by noise from other people moving in. It had the feel of a poor motel as doors slammed and peoples conversations were heard in our room.
The bed was not comfortable and the carpets needed shampooing. The room was stuffy so the window needed to be left open as we slept but then the noise was a problem.
Coffee was not served until 8am so they put an old mr coffee maker in the room which seemed like a Holiday Inn in the 1980's. Breakfast was really poor and if you were leaving early you were out of luck as it was served late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SR004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Tradewinds. I liked that it was within walking to check out town, but felt the overall value was very poor. We had an ocean view room, but it's so far from the ocean that it wasn't even worth sitting on the patio for. The room smelled weird and we took one look at the breakfast and headed to town to La Bicyclette, which was great. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I reviewed several hotels before finally deciding on this one. Once we arrived, I knew I had made the right decision. The location is perfect where we were able to walk into town and the beach within 5 to 10 minutes. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I will definitely be staying here the next time we are in Carmel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & after arriving from Yosemite Curry Camp we were delighted with the fabulous room. Loved the fire, the bathroom - especially the spa bath and the beds were SO comfortable. We had the best nights sleep in a long time! In fact we are keen to know where the beds are from as we slept like logs!
The hotel reception are keen to assist and if necessary book restaurants for you. Do ask for maps etc as we found it useful to locate particular restaurants we wanted to visit. Parking was tight but luckily we found a parking.spot for our 2night stay. Wifi was disappointing as kept dropping in & out so very variable. We were planning to do research for next part of our road trip here but found it impossible to use. Called reception but nothing could be done to improve it - apart from.us sitting in reception to use it so not ideal really.
The breakfast is simple with lots of choice- fresh fruit, cereals, bagels/bread, yoghurts, toasters, hot & cold drinks. Tables were are issue with families waiting till over guests was finished so you do feel a bit of pressure to eat & get out.
Really enjoyed our chilled out 2 days in Carmel - was very relaxed after the chaos of Yosemite!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing