We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Time”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Tradeswinds Hotel was done in an Asian Theme. Very nice exterior with waterfall, bamboo and fountain. Tradewinds had three parking lots for each of the three levels of rooms. Continental breakfast in their breakfast room on lower floor. Staff was very friendly. We brought our small dog along with her own bed, as Tradewinds is a pet friendly hotel. Dogs not allowed in breakfast dining area or left alone in rooms (for fire reasons). Several people either ate breakfast outside on benches with their companions or locked them in their cars for a short time, which was ok, as the mornings have a cool marine layer. Recommend Carmel Beach and the Scenic Dr. along the waters edge in the afternoon. Tradewinds is about a five block walk to Ocean Avenue to the shops, etc. Can also drive, but parking can sometimes be hard to find depending on time of years. We had a nice 40th anniversary in Carmel and will go back again. Over all a good location to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room with outdoor balcony with small table and two chairs was nice. Nice ocean breezes. We did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardSandiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review and to alert other potential guests that we have some pet-friendly rooms. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. They called before our arrival to give us directions from the airport and confirm they would be there for our late arrival. There was a great continental breakfast each morning and there was fresh cookies and cold lemon water in the office every day. So many details to help you enjoy your stay...chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival, comfortable bed, in room water fountain, fireplace for the cool evenings, calming extensive landscaping with waterfalls and fire pit. A little warm first night and no air conditioning but it was very quiet even with windows open.

Room Tip: Paid a little extra to get a balcony so my husband could smoke out there but when I found out their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We know that the details are so important. Thank you for appreciating them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A friend and I just returned from a San Francisco and Carmel vacation and, without a doubt, Carmel and the well-located Tradewinds were the highlight. The front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helped us to find wonderful lunch and dinner options within Carmel. The room itself (double queens - room 23) was located on the second floor and had a great view across the rooftops to the Pacific Ocean. The decor of the room was exceptionally tasteful and had many wonderful extras - beautiful robes in the closet, a small and calming water feature, chocolate covered strawberries waiting to be enjoyed, and a well-appointed and very clean bathroom. There is no air-conditioning in Carmel hotels but a tower fan was available in the room and, combined with open windows, did a good job of keeping the room cool. Other reviewers have mentioned hearing noises from other rooms but we didn't hear a thing...even with open windows. Our only regret with the Tradwinds was that we only booked for one night!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you a view of the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heath120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

For rooms with two beds, I like rooms 23 and 24 because the views are the best. We hope that you do return soon and stay longer! Winter rates are just around the corner. First week of December is always very quiet, but Carmel has its Christmas tree lighting and many stores offer goodies....a great time to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First of all, a comment about Carmel - what a great place to spend a few adult recreation days. High end shopping, fine-dining restaurants and great bars, but it's an expensive town, especially accommodation.

We wanted somewhere close to town, so that we weren't concerned about transport after a night out. Mostly such places are modernized motel type accommodation. We took the view that this is a piece of Americana, and should be celebrated raher than avoided.

Wiht that in mind Tradewinds is excellent. Our room was spacious, comfortably furnished and well stocked. The bed was very comfortable. We had a view over roofs towards the ocean, with a great view of Point Lobos. Staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was continental buffet style and was more than sufficient with both healthy and comfort options.

Price is always going to be on the expensive side in Carmel, but Tradewinds offered relatively good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 27 and 28 have fireplaces, balconies and sea views. 27 is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Well-said and much appreciated! We are constantly adding to the breakfast buffet so we are happy that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and have to say everything was great - we are hoteliers ourself and were impresed by their attention to detail and hospitality. This hotel is situated in a quiet area of the town and a short walk from all main attractions, the breakfast was first class only surpassed by Beritt's (General Manger) personality and professionalism

Room Tip: The different rooms give you a choice of options, we stayed in 23 at the back and could still see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

So nice to have fellow hoteliers critique our boutique hotel! Glad that you liked the breakfast! Thank you for your thoughtfulness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently had the opportunity to spend a few nights at the Tradewinds and absolutely loved it! I had booked a room with partial ocean views and a fireplace and it certainly did not disappoint. We even had a little balcony where we could enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. The room was very nicely appointed and I liked the decor. The garden area was lovely with a water feature and fire pit and several nooks where one could sit and enjoy the tranquility. The proximity to downtown was super convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful in making dinner reservations or just answering questions in general. We will definitely be back! Oh, and did I mention Sweetie? The adorable black and white kitty who lives in the lobby? Her name says it all...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Anniversaries, Honeymoons and special occasions...we love! So glad that you had a wonderful Anniversary weekend. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again for many Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My guy and I enjoyed our stay at the tradewinds but not until we moved 2 times and had to pay an insulting additional $27.00. I booked online a partial ocean view king room with a fireplace. Upon our arrival we were given a room with no fireplace. When I questioned this they replied that since I booked on line they didn't know what I booked. After some shifting around we were taken to another room and told that we were being upgraded for free for our inconvenience. It sounded good until we got in the room to find it was an accessible room with all the necessary features if we required them. However the room was equipped differently, no shower only a tub with a very low hand held shower head, with the tv positioned to the side of the bed rather then in front. Totally unacceptable. My guy went to the desk and was charged an addition fee to move us to the room we had already paid for in full according to the website! Their website. This really spoiled my mood. We did however enjoy a fun walk to dinner, by some great shops and down to the beach. The location is within walking distance of all the sites. The front desk asked that we post to trip advisor when we checked out. Sure they regret that request!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Lucydamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay once you got settled. I am sorry that you somehow got booked into a room without a fireplace. A good portion of our reservations are booked on-line. Once in a while, but rarely, we have a guest who books on-line and doesn't get the room desired. We always prefer to discuss the room options with guests so that we can offer you the room that best suits your needs. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and acknowledging that we have a great location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
927 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 24 in Carmel
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $277 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace your true Zen with a stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Featured as one of Architectural Digest’s most glamorous hotels, one of Forbes Travel Guide’s best small hotels, and voted as one of the world’s top inns by Coastal Living, our Carmel luxury hotel combines the elegant with the relaxing, offering tranquil surroundings and views of the Pacific Ocean. Indulge yourself in fine Egyptian cotton linens and luxurious goose down feather beds, pillows, and comforters. Experience spectacular ocean views, the luxury of spa tubs, fireplaces, Japanese tansu wetbars and vanities, antique and custom designed furniture from Bali and China, silk pillows, custom lighting, fine bath amenities, CD players, wireless high-speed internet access, fresh orchids and bamboo fountains. Pet friendly and dog friendly rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing