We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Point Lobos to the Cove”

China Cove and Gibson Beach
Ranked #11 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,631 reviews
1,093 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“Point Lobos to the Cove”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We walked all around Point Lobos and took hundreds of pictures. the whales were playing just off the reef and the seals were lounging on the rocks and shore. Baby seals were especially jun to watch. The seas were thundering in to the rocks and made for some great waves. On the south end of the point lies the China Cove and we finished off our visit with a trip down the walkway to this very special area; however, after so much beauty in Point Lobos it is difficult to get too excited over another beautiful spot....we just enjoyed the whole day. The State pass lets you enter all state parks for the day if you have the energy. Another great CA treasure for the people. As a visitor, I don't mind spending $9.00 to help keep parks like this one heathy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful spots in California if you like ocean covers and natural beauty. I would recommend hiking in through the woods and enjoying the entire experience of Point Lobos State Park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,views, pleasant hike”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Two beaches located in Point Lobos State Park, both are nice secluded beaches. China Cove being the smaller and more secluded of the two, with clear, beautiful water. Both require a short hike (uphill) from the southernmost parking lot in the park, with a hike (there are stairs) down to the two beaches.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweet quiet beaches”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lots of steps, but that keeps them quiet. China cove had seals laying right out on the beach! Gibson Beach was a beautiful little beach - we took off our shoes and waded into the surf, even though it was freezing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jjanecincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beauty and Peace”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We entered through Pt Lobos State Park and hiked the trail. If you love beautiful trails which are easy to medium hiking you will love these. Stretches of ocean, sea otters, trees, that are unique to Monterey. Don't miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kizosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cove and Gibson Beach also viewed

 

Been to China Cove and Gibson Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing