We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Colonial Terrace
Ranked #4 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a lovely inn, very close to the beech, with great service and staff, and lovely grounds and outdoor seating. We extended our stay for an extra night because we enjoyed the location so much. A short drive south to the many state parks along the Big Sur coast. It is an easy walk to the best part of Carmel beach, and a shirt (15 minute) walk to town. There are semi-private outdoor spaces for each room. It is a mix of newer and older buildings and so not all rooms are the same. We had a junior suite (room 8) in one of the older buildings, which had a kitchenette and dining table. It was very spacious, comfortable, and upstairs with fresh breezes and views of the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 774 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

All white, washable linens and a super comfortable bed makes for an excellent place to stay. The staff was super friendly. We told them we were gluten free and they had special breads for us...much appreciated. The bathrooms were extremely clean but very simple and a bit too small. We had two rooms, one of the bathrooms may have been a tad better than the other. The sink is separate from the toilet and shower. Super short walk to the beach and a lovely 15 minute walk into town. It was conveniently located by feet or car to Carmel and all surrounding areas. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarbraBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Colonial is a great spot to stay and relax. We enjoyed the convience of being yards away from the beach. The Staff is always Pleasant and attentive. It was a pleasure not only for my Wife and I but also for my 2yr old Daughter. Without me having to ask, the staff brought out Crayons and a Coloring book for my daughter while we enjoyed the fire pit outside. Good times during the 4th of July!!

Room Tip: The Jr Suite is located upstairs and with only two more rooms underneath it, it allows for added qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Paul S.: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Colonial Terrace. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here during the 4th of July. As you mentioned the staff is always pleasant and attentive and I am very glad that they exceeded your expectations. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Colonial Terrace exceeded our expectation for its location near the beach, its cordial staff and beautiful garden. It's a very nice and quiet place in Carmel. If you do decide to stay there, please ask for a room in one of the newer buildings. We stayed in room 2 and had some problems. The wireless internet is a hit or miss - you might get one bar on an iPhone and you'll have to go to the nearby reception to do any work online. The hot water tap in the sink only produced hot water after the shower ran for a while. The shower drain took an extremely long time to drain; 30 minutes draining for a 5 minute shower is extreme by our standards. When the management was approached, we were told that this was the old building and unfortunately they can't do anything about that. It's very unfortunate because this put a big X on an otherwise great experience at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Reply to BizTourist: Dear BizTourist: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Colonial Terrace. I am glad that our location near the beach, the cordial staff and our beautiful gardens exceeded your expectations. I apologize for the issues with your wireless Internet. Know that we have looked into the issue and the wireless is now working correctly. Being a historic property, sometimes it does take an extra minute for the water to get hot in the sink. Running the water in the shower does help to get the sink water warmer quicker. We are working on plans to upgrade the hotel’s plumbing to allow for instant hot water in the hotel’s sinks. Once again thank you for your feedback and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We Arrived and was met by Andrea who was so helpful and friendly, we were thrilled with our room ( 19 - King ) the decore was beautiful, spotlessly clean, great size bathroom and a King Bed you felt
like you were floating on a cloud, and just little touches done by house keeping that made it extra special, would fully recomend this hotel which is one block off the beach to other travellers, we loved our one night stay there.

Room Tip: We had a king garden veiw room, ocean veiws would be nice, none available at the time off our stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Susie622: Let me start by saying thank you for your feedback on Andrea, who is a new staff member with the Colonial Terrace. I am delighted that she was very helpful and friendly and gave you a warm welcome. Also, thank you for your comments on room 19 which is one of the hotel’s Courtyard King rooms, I am glad that you found the bed to be comfortable and you enjoyed the extra little touches done by housekeeping. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

What a charming spot ! The grounds were beautiful with hedges and flowers everywhere and very well kept up. My husband and daughter walked to the beach every night after dinner for a walk....only steps away! We could see the ocean from our room! No problem with parking, very friendly helpful staff. We felt so comfortable in the area, we left our windows open at night enjoying the cool Carmel breezes. Fine breakfast in the lobby before heading out for day trips, and warm cookies in the lobby on our way back from dinner. There is a short drive to restaurants, but I'd prefer the quiet neighborhood versus the hustle of "town." My only mere negative thought would be the age of bathrooms and kitchens.....maybe could be updated soon, but overall.......a great stay. I'd go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: We loved room #4.... Great location, first floor, close to lobby and back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaTravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear VaTravlingal I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Carmel and the Colonial Terrace. As you mentioned, the hotel is only steps from the beach and I am glad that your husband and daughter were able to enjoy the beach every night. I am also very glad to see that you enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon amenities we offer. Thank you for your suggestion on upgrading the bathrooms and kitchens. We are in the process of developing plans for upgrading many areas of the property. To date, we have installed new flat screen televisions with DirecTV in all guest rooms, updated all the exterior paint throughout the entire property and added new chairs. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just back from 2 nights (June 22 & 23, 2014) at the Colonial Terrace Inn. 1 short block to the beach. NO PETS! We wonder why peeps take their dogs everywhere. Not everyone likes dogs.
This is a very nice place to stay. Great for those that want to walk more...Comfy bed, nice bathtub, gas fireplace and flat screen TV. Quiet too! Pity the place is still allows smoking outside public areas. Complimentary continental breakfast is OK. Reception staff were helpful.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K57K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear K57K: Thank you for your detailed view on your recent stay at the Colonial Terrace. As you mentioned, the rooms do have comfortable beds, gas fireplaces and flat screen TVs. I am happy that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Thank you for your comments on the reception staff and I am glad that you found them to be helpful. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.9 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 26 in Carmel
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $183 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing