We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colonial Terrace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Colonial Terrace
Ranked #4 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. It is just one block from the beach. The room was nice and the breakfast was very nice. The staff were helpful to our requests for places to eat. The only complaint was the room we stayed in had little ventilation when the window was open. They had nice areas in the court yard where we could enjoy our breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nikki S.: Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at The Colonial Terrace. I am very happy that you found the staff to be helpful and you enjoyed the property. I apologize for the lack of ventilation in your room. Please know in the future that we do offer fans to assist with airing out the hotel’s rooms when needed. The weather has been unseasonably warm during the afternoon and I apologize if the room was a bit stuffy. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    228
    83
    33
    19
See reviews for
118
457
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed in several places in Carmel but this was our first stay at Colonial Terrace. I have to tell you we were thrilled with our stay. The location by the beach couldn't have been more perfect. Our ocean view was spectacular and it was amazing to fall asleep listening to the ocean through our open windows at night. It is a little bit of a hike to the shops but the quick drive by car was not inconvenient at all. The staff were amazing to us and the continental breakfast was very satisfying. Our room was wonderful, it was spacious and very clean. I admit the wallpaper in the bathroom was very tired looking and may be off-putting for some, replacing it and painting the walls would give it a more luxurious feel, but it didn't detract from our satisfaction at all.
The location and the helpfulness of the staff make this our number 1 choice for when we return to Carmel in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king bed and an ocean view. These are the most spacious and the view is spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Trish B:
Thank you for your feedback on your first stay here at The Colonial Terrace. I am thrilled that you were thrilled with your stay and that you enjoyed the hotel’s location. I am also very happy that you found the staff to be amazing and the breakfast satisfying. Thank you for your suggestion on the wallpaper in the hotel’s bathrooms. We are currently working on removing all wallpaper and replacing it with fresh paint. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you next time you visit from Utah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Colonial Terrace is a small off the beaten path inn down by the beach and a few blocks from town

The rooms are basic but all we needed as we arrived late and went out each day by 9am. Breakfast was good and the lobby is very nice. Staff was also great Would return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Keith O: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at The Colonial Terrace. I am very glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and friendly staff. I am also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast we provide for all our guests. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our first stay in Carmel and we certainly weren't disappointed in The Colonial Terrace. Upon arrival the staff were most helpful, friendly and welcoming to us. I was travelling with my disabled husband and two daughters aged 13 & 4.
Gonzalo was certainly in my mind the nicest most helpful person I have ever met. All he wanted was for us to have a truly enjoyable stay, he went out of his way to help with providing information on the surrounding area and suitable activities for our girls.
The hotel although some walk from the town centre was in a beautiful aspect, and we were lucky enough to have a room that overlooked the sea. It was simply idyllic.
Our room was very spacious we had a small kitchen, dining area, well appointed bathroom and most comfortable beds. Our room was the The San Antonio suite, well worth the extra I'm sure.
The air conditioning could be turned to heat if the evenings were chilly.
Parking is a little tricky especially at busy times it seems to be a case of first come first served!
The hotel provided torches for those wanting to make the walk into town, sadly we weren't aware of that and it was a little hair raising walking in the dark with no street light!
Breakfast is served in the main reception area, a continental breakfast but very plentiful and extremely delicious. Once again though, at busy times we found it difficult to get a table, however you were allowed to help yourself to a tray and take the breakfast back to your room. Nothing was too much trouble. There were also a selection of childrens DVDs and games for free use of guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this lovely gem to everyone.

Room Tip: The largess suites are certainly wotrth paying that little extra when staying for longer than a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Karen T: Wow, is all I can say after reading your comments. Thank you so much for your detailed feedback on your recent stay here at The Colonial Terrace. I am elated that you enjoyed everything the Colonial Terrace has to offer and that you found the staff very helpful. I am glad that you found your Jr. Suite to be spacious and comfortable for your family. Once again thank you for all your feedback and we look forward to having you as our guests next time you visit from the United Kingdom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Colonial Terrace was a perfect and affordable choice for our stay in bustling Carmel. Several blocks from the central area and with plenty of off-street parking, it was also in a quieter residential neighbourhood and only a block away from the long and pristine beach and the scenic drive along it. Closer to a hotel than a B & B, it offered a spacious room with a fireplace and adjoining gardens, yet still featured an adequate buffet breakfast. If there is any criticism of its quieter location it would be that a late evening walk back from town is through unlit streets, which might be scary for some guests. Great value and location nevertheless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Alan Y: I am very delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Colonial Terrace. As you noted the hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and is only one block away from the beach. Thank you for all your feedback on your stay. I do also enjoy walking around Carmel in the evening but it can be scary with no street lights therefore, the hotel does have flashlights guests can borrow while visiting with us. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed with our 12 years old daughter for two nights. The property is extremely clean and the location is fantastic. Unfortunately our room was located right next to the maid room and on the first floor. It was therefore very noisy with people walking on our head and the maid starting launcdry, etc... at 7am. The breakfast was good and we had a great night using the fire pit. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Second floor, away from maid area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Noelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Julie-Noelle: Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at The Colonial Terrace. I am happy that you found the property to be extremely clean and that the location is fantastic. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the outdoor fire pit we have here on property. As you noted, we do have a variety of rooms and each room does offer something different. I apologize that the location of your room was not ideal for your visit. Please feel free to contact me directly and I can assist you with finding a wonderful room that meets your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'm so glad that we found this hotel! Our room was spacious, no air conditioning but they were quick to provide fans. Most people in this area probably wouldn't need them. We had a room that was on the garden side, but the beach is just a short walk away. The neighborhood makes a great place to take a walk.

Room Tip: You have a choice of rooms that open to the garden, or to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Terra1411: I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at The Colonial Terrace and the hotel’s location. As you mentioned we are only a short walk to the beach and are located in a beautiful neighborhood. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Property: The Colonial Terrace
Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing