We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked a suite got a small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonial Terrace
Ranked #4 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Booked a suite got a small room”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a suite with a wet bar and hot tub, kitchen etc... We got a small little room. We got a sorry. We could not cancel with out a huge service charge. When asked why the call is a suite when it is only one roam the answer was any hotel room is considered a suite. Furthermore the pictures show the hotel on the beach and it is 4 block from. A complete hype.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleeplessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sleeplessness:
I am very sorry to hear that the suite you reserved did not meet your expectations. While not knowing exactly which suite you stayed in, it sounds from your description to be our San Antonio Suite, which does offer a combined bedroom/living area, hot tub, ocean view and wet bar. For the most part, each of our suites does combine the bedroom and living area without a separating wall. I apologize that the description was not specific. We do, however, consider the suite to be larger than our standard rooms providing 350 or more square feet. Each also does offer the ocean view. I am also not clear on the photos you reference that show our hotel on the beach. Each of the images on our website does indicate how close we are to the beach but I am not finding any that show us directly on the beach. We are indeed only 1 block away. Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. If you have any additional comments or would like to discuss your recent stay further, please contact me directly at 831-624-2741. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    236
    92
    33
    20
See reviews for
125
486
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had a great experience here. The room was clean, spacious and nicely updated. The breakfast offered a nice assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and some choices that could be heated by staff. Seating provided in lobby area and outside. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants, things to do in area. Beautiful grounds with loads of flowers short walk to lovely beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Catherine M: Thank you for staying with the Colonial Terrace during your visit to Carmel. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. I trust you will be back the next time you visit from Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Colonial Terrace is a gem of a place. The property is lovely: beautiful flowers, tables with chairs outside the garden rooms. We will stay here again. The staff was very helpful. Also they have a nice continental breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies.

If you have a baby or a toddler, tell them ahead of time and they will set up a crib or a futon bed (what they did for our toddler). It worked out perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Samantha E: I am thrilled to hear your positive comments about your recent stay at The Colonial Terrace. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your family during your visit and that you enjoyed the property. As you know, we have beautiful gardens with a wide range of flowers that are truly a joy to look at. Thank you again for all your comments and we look forward to having your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial Terrace for one night while traveling up the Pacific Coast Highway after a family wedding. We purposefully stayed in smaller hotels that offered a unique experience rather than the chain hotels on the bigger highways. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. Our room was VERY tiny, but it worked out fine. We were on the ground floor and did hear the footsteps of the people staying in the room above us. We enjoyed opening the windows at night and hearing the sound of the ocean as we went to sleep. The hotel is in a residential area that is a nice walk from the busier streets in Carmel. It is a block off the beach and very close to Carmel beach where we enjoyed a nice long walk in the morning. WE would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mefland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mefland: Thank you for choosing to stay at the Colonial Terrace during your recent visit to Carmel. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate all your comments about the hotel and how friendly the staff is. Being in the residential part of town does provide a tranquil environment that allows for guests to be able to hear the sound of the ocean from most rooms. I am very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location we provide. I trust you will be back the next time you are visiting from Georgia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kahana, hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the Colonial Terrace to celebrate our 46th Anniversary. The Hotel is very old. We were on the bottom floor. We could hear our neighbor's steps upstairs. We don't think it has any sound proofing. The grounds were beautiful and the location is perfect. Only two blocks away from the beach. What we liked best was walking around the neighborhood seeing the multi-million dollar homes right along the beach. Amazing! Every single house has different character! Tiny shower and bathroom. No small table in the room. Breakfast was very nice. We paid alot of money - over $200 for one night. I guess we are used to more modern places. I would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LENEA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lenea01: Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent visit to Carmel and the Colonial Terrace. I also enjoy walking around the neighborhood and seeing all the beautiful historic homes in this area and the beach is breathtaking. The Colonial Terrace is one of the original hotel accommodations in Carmel built in 1925. We do feature a variety of rooms, but being a historic property, each one is a little different in size and feel. We do offer rooms that are more private and would not have a room above. On your next visit to Carmel I hope you will give the Colonial Terrace another try. And please feel free to contact me personally so that I may assist with your reservation to ensure you receive a room that will meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a large room at the Colonial Terrace in late June. It was one of the few places in town that allowed kids under 12 (our son is 3). So, that was already a big plus.

The room was a nice size, clean, and had a small fridge and microwave. Parking was never a problem. Breakfast was nice, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Damon T: I am delighted to hear your positive comments about your visit to the Colonial Terrace. I am also pleased we were able to accommodate your family during your visit to Carmel as we truly enjoy having families on property. We strive for excellence at every opportunity and I appreciate your comments about the hotel, as well as how extremely helpful and friendly the staff is. We look forward to having you and your family as our guests on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Second stay at this off-the-path hotel a few weeks back. Had the farthest south/west room in The Terrace. View of the ocean, gas fireplace, great built in bar. Walking distance to the beach and most of Carmel. Great staff and the grounds are superb. We asked for a fire on the patio and had an evening cocktail there as the sun went down.

A return is definitely in the works for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Terrace

Property: The Colonial Terrace
Address: 13th and San Antonio Streets, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonial Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Terrace Inn is a 3-Diamond hotel in Carmel with a charming collection of 26 rooms and suites, many with views of Carmel Bay spread among seven buildings and lush garden landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Colonial Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Terrace Hotel Carmel
Colonial Terrace Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing