We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good store” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nielsen Bros Market & Deli

Nielsen Bros Market & Deli
Ranked #67 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped in while walking through Carmel to pick up a few things. Good variety of items including wine and flowers. Had what we needed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go to place when you are visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We used to visit here years before moving here and this market was our go to place for sandwiches, quick groceries and fruits. I still go there on occasion for their fresh fruit and outside BBQ and sausage or chicken kabobs. Their location can not be beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place meets a need for those who want to bring food back to their room. We ordered sandwiches made on the spot and got some drinks for our hike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice folks, all necessary breakfast and lunch provisions here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Conveniently located small-town market with a surprising selection of assorted bitters and cocktail mixes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LatinoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked by the Market at lunchtime and noticed an employee outside grilling big beef hot dogs, beef kabobs, steaks for a sandwich on french bread, etc. I had the beef kabob and it was better than my steak at Flaherty's. Four huge chunks of beef for $7. what a deal! We munched. The beef was tender and so tasty. If I lived there I would eat there all the time. My friend has the steak sandwich and it was delicious too. They offered about 7 different selections. They need to add outdoor seating and get a license to drink beer or wine on premises. We ate our food on the go with a bag of chips and water. I can still taste that Kabob.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nielsen Bros Market & Deli also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nielsen Bros Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing