We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Go to place when you are visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nielsen Bros Market & Deli

Nielsen Bros Market & Deli
Ranked #68 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go to place when you are visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We used to visit here years before moving here and this market was our go to place for sandwiches, quick groceries and fruits. I still go there on occasion for their fresh fruit and outside BBQ and sausage or chicken kabobs. Their location can not be beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place meets a need for those who want to bring food back to their room. We ordered sandwiches made on the spot and got some drinks for our hike.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank garjog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice folks, all necessary breakfast and lunch provisions here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Conveniently located small-town market with a surprising selection of assorted bitters and cocktail mixes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LatinoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked by the Market at lunchtime and noticed an employee outside grilling big beef hot dogs, beef kabobs, steaks for a sandwich on french bread, etc. I had the beef kabob and it was better than my steak at Flaherty's. Four huge chunks of beef for $7. what a deal! We munched. The beef was tender and so tasty. If I lived there I would eat there all the time. My friend has the steak sandwich and it was delicious too. They offered about 7 different selections. They need to add outdoor seating and get a license to drink beer or wine on premises. We ate our food on the go with a bag of chips and water. I can still taste that Kabob.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Near Coachman's Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This market has been there as long as I can remember. It's an easy walk from both Coachman's Inn and Ocean Avenue. My husband would go off to the golf course with buddies and I would walk around Carmel in the morning ending up at this market for a good deli sandwiches to take to my room or the patio at Coachman's Inn.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vine999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nielsen Bros Market & Deli also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Nielsen Bros Market & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing